taz_39: (Default)
**Disclaimer** The views and opinions expressed in this post are my own, and do not reflect the views or opinions of my employer. DO NOT RESHARE ANY PART OF THIS POST WITHOUT PERMISSION. Thank you.

This post covers Wednesday and Thursday.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

WEDNESDAY


I had fallen asleep early because I was tired and stressed, and woke up slightly later than usual too.

The masterclass at Temple University is not going to go through. The trombone prof called and apologized for stringing me along, and offered to help me find contacts in Pittsburgh to set up a masterclass there (which is nice of him but he's very busy and I doubt he'll actually remember to do it.) Basically what happened is, the trombone prof offered the chance to give the masterclass, I said yes, he floated it to his Department Head who was enthusiastic and supportive...and who then went on a vacation without having approved it. So, it can't happen without approval. To be honest, I am disappointed with this outcome. But I also understand that people are busy, it didn't line up this time, and it might line up at some other point in the future.

All that said, the GOOD thing about this outcome is now I've got one less thing to worry about during this insanely busy two weeks. In fact, this means I might get to go see my friends perform at the circus on Monday! We'll see!

Anyway: breakfast, coffee, packing myself a dinner and snacks for the theater, working on Foodie Finds, and a masterclass run-through (I'm going to reduce run-throughs now that I'm NOT doing multiple presentations.) Forty-seven minutes, but it's because I've been told that a bunch of music tech/engineering majors will be attending the Delaware masterclass, so I was trying to include their field in my talking points.

After lunch I walked to the theater. It was cold but clear and nice outside.
Untitled.jpg

For perhaps the first time on this tour(?) here is a theater I've never played before! The Academy of Music! It has such a beautiful auditorium!
Untitled1.jpg

It's how I imagine playing in a theater in Italy or Spain might feel. The elaborate gold-gilded sculptures and carvings, and the ceiling murals of muses and composers surrounded by cherubs and roses, are definitely Beauty and the Beast-coded. Intrigued, I did some research and found that the Academy was built in 1857!! WOW that's old. Not only that, it was built to be an opera house and has been a theater/opera house for it's entire continuous operation. That is very impressive!! It's a privilege to perform here, that's for sure. 

We had sound check and a break for dinner, then the show. It was packed to the rafters out there, and the crowd was great and enthusiastic. I have to say, though, that tomorrow The Creatives--the head honchos whose ideas made this show happen--will be here to watch the show and make adjustments. Of course this is a good thing, and I think we're all excited to do our best...but I can also FEEL the nervous anticipation about it. We all just want to do a good job. I'm sure that we will, but I am not alone in saying that we tend to put extra pressure on ourselves when we KNOW we're being evaluated. Tale as old as time.

Back at the hotel I unpacked my trunk stuff, had a nice hot shower, and took forever to fall asleep because I was anxious! Lol.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THURSDAY


Up too early, of course. We had two shows today, and as previously mentioned all the creatives will be there. I was extra-anxious, but one can only do their best and hope that that continues to be acceptable for this show.

Anyway, breakfast and coffee and all the usual stuff, no masterclass run-through because today is tense enough without that. Instead I took myself to Target for a little retail therapy. Some cheap tees and some cheap slippers (this is such an old lady thing to say but I got chillblains while in Tulsa and want to protect my dumb cold feet) and some cheap Valentine's candy. 

Back to the hotel to watch Mighty Nein, eat lunch, and walk to the theater. I went early to rearrange my chair and the plexi surrounding Tim and I, because last night he'd mentioned that I'm sounding loud again. We've discovered that sometimes this has to do with our positions in relation to each other, so adjusting that can help. It actually DID end up helping noticeably, according to Tim, which is great!

The matinee was a lot of fun because we had a packed house and they were rowdy! Lots of cheering and gasping and screaming and whatnot. I love an audience that gets into it! And also I was wrong: The Creatives were not there until the evening show. Suspense! 

Walked back to the hotel in the cold, ate dinner and listened to an audio message from Jameson about his day. Bundled back up and walked back. Nervous nervous nervous. But sometimes nerves can be helpful. We were ALL nervous, but we looked at each other and smiled and said, "We'll do just fine." And we did! I thought the show went wonderfully. On a personal note, at no point did I make any mistake that I felt bad about or that I felt was noticeable. The last time we played for Koz was in Greensboro (September-ish.) I can say with certainty that my playing has significantly improved since then, and I was (relieved and) proud of how I played today. Not only that, I never forget that I am here because DAR advocated for me, and I ALWAYS want to do my very best to prove to anyone and everyone that he made the right choice in putting my name forward. That is the very LEAST I can do to repay him for the privilege of being here. 

This will not be a very Disney thing to say, but here goes: after that show, and after being so tense with anticipation for the past couple of days, I felt like I needed to do a shot!! I didn't :p because tomorrow we still have rehearsal and a show and I want to be at my best-possible. Instead I typed up this post, had a nice hot shower, and cuddled up in bed with TikTok. Aaaah, now we're talking.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday:
One evening show, but we have rehearsal with Koz before that.

Saturday and Sunday: Two shows each day so no plans. 
taz_39: (Default)
**Disclaimer** The views and opinions expressed in this post are my own, and do not reflect the views or opinions of my employer. DO NOT RESHARE ANY PART OF THIS POST WITHOUT PERMISSION. Thank you.

This post covers the weekend.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---


FRIDAY

It was a frustrating Friday for me. Up early with Jameson and felt ready to post about our lovely night at Disney and then make some cookies...but first facebook froze on my post while it was loading, then after the second time I typed it up I accidentally hit the AI assist button and it rewrote my whole thing with no apparent option to go back to the original...then I typed the whole thing out again and it finally posted...only for me to see that the one I'd thought was initially lost had posted too! GAH. This is how you know you're old and losing it.

Jameson left for rehearsal so I had breakfast and frantically typed up my blog...and had a similar experience where some bizarre html code was preventing me from changing the font from Normal to Bold unless I went in and manually removed the wonky html code. There were SIXTY-THREE instances of wrong code, but it was either find and delete all of those, or copy the whole thing into Notes to get the plain text and then re-insert all of the links and media one by one. It was hell no matter how you slice it.

Suffice to say, my whole morning was wasted because I was so insistent on doing my usual online oversharing. I'd meant to finish Houston Foodie Finds but it was 10am and I HAD to get started on the cookies. I made the Christmas Crack and I think it turned out all right. While that was setting in the fridge I rolled out the magic window cookie dough and made those.

And guess who accidentally bought SUGAR FREE CANDY for the window cookies!! ME!! I'm an idiot!! Had to run out and re-buy all of the candy, hurriedly crush it and get the cookies finally in the oven. And all the extra time it took to do that meant that I would not have time to practice the trombone before Jameson came home...and then I realized as well that I'd forgotten to bring my practice mute home, so couldn't even muffle myself for him.

At this point I was so flustered and disappointed and angry with myself that I was looking for anything at all to feel like I had accomplished something for the day besides ruining everything I touched. I remembered that I hadn't wiped the ceiling fan blades when I'd dusted, so grabbed the stepladder and did that. It only took about 3 minutes. When finished I folded the ladder and propped it against the back of the couch, as I've done many times before.

But when I came around the corner of the couch with the vacuum to clean up my mess, my sandal caught under the edge of the ladder that was sticking out...and the leg of the ladder went right through the back of the couch, leaving a big hole.

I screamed in anger and punched the top of the couch until my hand hurt. When I calmed down, I took a photo and sent it to Jameson, explaining what had happened. I said I'd pick up a patch kit and/or do whatever was needed to fix it. He wrote back to say that the couch is 20+ years old and is well past needing to be replaced, and why don't we go look at couches together after he was done at work? I was relieved that he wasn't angry, but also had another flash of rage at myself...now my whole evening was gone. Everything else I'd planned to do for the day would have to be pushed to tomorrow. But it's entirely my own fault. And clearly The Universe, having treated me so sweetly and generously for most of this year, has chosen this day to humble me and remind me that I'm just a tiny ant. My screaming and crying has as much impact on events as an ant's. Clearly, there was no point in trying to do anything else today since literally everything I'd done since waking up this morning had been a disaster.

So, ok. When Jameson got home from work we drove to a furniture store 30 minutes away. Put our butts in a bunch of couches and loveseats, and found one that we agreed was comfortable and perfect for us. For US. It means a lot to me to be included on these major purchase choices (never mind that this major purchase was my fault, sigh) We aren't married, it's Jameson's house, and I'm barely home because of touring. But we've been together for 11 years. I love him. I want to be a part of his life, and contribute to US as a couple and as a team. So when he includes me in these choices, and wants to get my opinion, and will split the cost of the thing with me, it does make me feel happy, and like he understands and appreciates MY need, to be a team, with him.

The couch can't be delivered for like a month, but Jameson's going to get a friend to help him move the old one out. We picked up dinner at our favorite Greek place on the way back, and watched the first episode of the new season of Fallout together. And I typed up this post to get this all off my chest, hoping that tomorrow will be a significantly better day.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

SATURDAY

TL;DR: It was thankfully just a normal day and not a repeat of Friday. Good god. What kind of karmic spiral was THAT.

I was up early, determined to finish my cookies, and I did. It took until noon, but it was finally done.
Here they all are: Christmas Crack up top in the bag, then in the box there were Apple Butter Snickerdoodles, Stained Glass Cookies, and Peanut Butter Blossoms (kisses intentionally smooshed to make them easier to store.)
602004494_10109336855443872_7880362521785459732_n.jpg

And literally just as I had packaged them in tins for the neighbors, our doorbell rang...our neighbor, bringing us cookies!!
You see? The timing was meant to be! We exchanged and then walked together over to our other neighbor's house, but they seem to be out of town and will be back tomorrow. No worries.

The rest of the day I spent being nervous about Candlelight. Packed myself dinner and some snacks, and practiced the bass (I don't need the bass until tomorrow but have never played Candlelight on it and wanted to check it out.) While I did that Jameson started assembling a new desk in his office. It's specifically for keyboardists/music programming, so it's very large and shaped to fit a keyboard plus a whole bunch of gear. It looks really great! The living room is aclutter with the old desk and much of Jameson's stuff while he works, but that's ok, we ate lunch around his guitars lol.

At 3:30 I drove to EPCOT, clocked in. Brought my Christmas Crack (the recipe made A LOT) and set it on the table backstage along with many snacks from other members. Had a little time to chat with the other trombones and some trumpet buddies before it was time to line up and go perform!

Tonight's narrator was Brendan Fraser, who is very popular, so there was a huge crowd and it was standing room only in the back. I was working so obviously could not take pics or record, but will post when something becomes available.

Jeff Thomas is the principal trombone for Candlelight, and he's also principal trombone for the Orlando Philharmonic. Playing as the only trombone in a Broadway pit is very different than forming chords with an orchestral trombone section, so I have to change how I play for Candlelight :) I listen very carefully to Jeff's articulations, note lengths, dynamics, and style, and try to match that as best I can. Apparently I did a good job because he was very pleased, and our local AFM president (who plays trumpet and was sitting directly in front of me for all three performances tonight) exclaimed many times over how well Jeff and I locked in together. This made me feel really good about my performance tonight :) :)

Brendan did a great job as narrator. He didn't expound on his own career or showboat (which some other narrators will do), he had excellent pacing, and told the Nativity Story in a contemplative, emotional way that had some audience members tearing up. The audience roared for him when he took his bows. All three shows were really excellent.

After the last show, we took a low brass photo in front of the Christmas tree on stage. From left to right: Harry (bass trombone), Me, Jeff, and Robin (Tuba).
thumbnail_IMG_3693.jpg

We also realized that we had an unusual number of WOMEN in the brass tonight with both Robin and I there, so we took a ladies-only photo too (I don't know everyone's names yet so will redact lol):
thumbnail_IMG_3700.jpg

Tomorrow, Sarah is supposed to be filling in on trumpet, meaning we'll have one woman in EVERY brass section!! So we are DEFINITELY taking another photo tomorrow!!!

And on the way out, my friend Jacob came to say hello! We only had a brief moment, but it was so cool that he attended our show and that we got to see each other. Quick selfie (he's all the way on the left and I'm all the way on the right and everyone else is photobombing lol)
603057746_10239991336952281_8655710273106501368_n.jpg

One last thing: my Christmas Crack is GONE! Those musicians DEVOURED it and were begging for the recipe (it's literally sugar, butter, chocolate, and saltines haha.) I'm secretly glad it's gone, we have more cookies than any other year prior and it's been too much for just two people! In fact when I got home my stepmom had sent a box with cookies and candy! Sheesh!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

SUNDAY

I was up at 8:30 which is late for me, but I could have slept longer. But I have so much to do all the damn time on this layoff. It feels like there hasn't been a minute to stop.

Breakfast, typing up this post, working on Houston Foodie Finds and finally effing finishing it, oh my god it should have been done a week ago. Wrapping one of the last of Jameson's presents that showed up yesterday. Practiced bass, playing through the Candlelight stuff twice because I'm a bit nervous. The new tenor trombone case that I ordered (because a latch broke on my other one) showed up, and I spent some time transferring the stickers over to it. And I'd meant to finish finding stocking stuffers for Jameson, but just wanted an hour to lie still. So I did.

When it was Candlelight time I grabbed my packed dinner and drove over. The first show was a bit wonky for me as it took my ears some time to adjust...I don't know how to describe this for non-musicians, but when you switch instruments even if you're playing the same music there is an adjustment. Some people can adjust instantly, but switching is still rather new to me. I've played tenor for almost 30 years, and have been doubling/switching back and forth between bass and tenor for less than a year. And so adjusting for the way the bass sounds and feels, and what to listen for in the context of playing a different part with these musicians, takes me longer than it might take other more skilled/experienced musicians.

Anyway, during the second show I was able to lock in better, and by the third show I really had it down...but then we were done! LOL. Everyone seemed pleased with how I'd done, and that's all that matters. I've successfully played bass for Candlelight. Yay!

We also took our Female Brass Section photo because Sarah was here, but no one has shared it just yet. Just think...in the 65-year history of Candlelight, there has probably never been one female brass musician in EVERY section on the same night, until now. After the picture as we were walking back, we discussed this, and how it felt both good to be making progress as a sex, and also how embarrassing it is that 2025 is the first time this has happened.

Additionally, if (and ONLY if) I were to be called to sub on Christmas Eve or Day, we'd have TWO women on trumpet, two on French horn, myself on trombone, and Robin on tuba, for a majority-female brass section, which DEFINITELY has not happened in the history of Candlelight. Truth be told I'd rather not be called on the holiday...but if it happens at least it'll be HISTORIC!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday: An actual free day, but I have a lot to do. Last minute Christmas errands, prepping for Epic Universe, laundry and house chores mostly.

Tuesday: Full day at Epic Universe. We will see how much has changed.  
taz_39: (Default)
**Disclaimer** The views and opinions expressed in this post are my own, and do not reflect the view sor opinions of my employer. DO NOT RESHARE ANY PART OF THIS POST WITHOUT PERMISSION. Thank you.

This post covers Wednesday and Thursday.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

WEDNESDAY

I went to bed at 1am and was awake at 6am, thanks to angry imaginary arguments with myself about...well, about a lot of things I guess. I had written a rant about it, but you don't need to hear it, and just rest assured that it'll get resolved and I'll be in a better mood when that happens :) 

Right, Wednesday. Since I was up early I had coffee and stole more stuff from hotel breakfast. The first two eps of the new Hazbin Hotel season had dropped, but I wanted to delay watching them until afternoon. So I had breakfast, tried to line up an Orlando Christmas gig, and worked on Austin TX Foodie Finds.

After breakfast I gave my tenor trombone a bath at the kitchen sink.
thumbnail_IMG_2475.jpg

"The Art Deco Prison" i.e. Kansas City Music Hall only has 1-2 bathrooms backstage and those don't have sinks (I know!! Gross!!) but I have been sick, and I want the germs OUT of my horns. Today is the tenor and tonight I will drag the bass here for the same treatment.

It was very cold outside but I bundled up and walked to UPS to print my Grey Stuff costume add-ons.
One is this little "It's delicious!" banner. Either I'll stick it to the hat somehow or hold it like a flag. Haven't decided yet.
thumbnail_IMG_2480_SnapseedCopy.jpgthumbnail_IMG_2482_SnapseedCopy.jpg

The other is just a picture of The Grey Stuff to have on hand because it may not be clear what I'm supposed to be, especially if you've never seen the dessert. And a thrifted hat and sweater are hardly a GOOD costume.

When I was finished there I walked to a thrift store to donate my second Grey Stuff sweater that hadn't worked out, then hustled back to the hotel for lunch and to finally watch Hazbin Hotel. It's only the first two episodes and neither one was focused on my favorite character, Alastor, but they did move the plot forward a bit and sort of establish where the characters find themselves after the Season 1 finale (a battle against Heaven.) The animation quality is MUCH improved, and I'll probably watch both episodes again in coming days if for no other reason than to enjoy the eye candy.


The rest of the day was kind of a wash. I took a nap since I hadn't slept well. Walked to the theater still feeling angry and heartbroken (butthurt?) at having to play at half volume. Tim (trumpet) is well pleased, and no one else noticed at all. I even had a friend from BAC Music in the audience, who said the trombone sounded great. So I guess this is a Me Problem. I was naive to think that pouring my heart into each show actually made a difference to how it sounded. It only impacts how I feel myself. I'm disappointed, and it makes playing the show a lot less enjoyable. I will have to be the one to change my attitude and figure out how to embrace playing at half volume.

ANYWAY a good start would be to stop raging about it, huh! Sunshine and rainbows.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THURSDAY


Slept pretty well (first night in a while that I have not had sleep interrupted by a coughing fit!) and the usual morning routine.

Bass trombone's turn at a sink bath. My snake bristle broke off inside one of the tuning slides! I managed to get it out but that was scary. After cleaning up that mess and repackaging the bass I got dressed and walked 1.5 miles to Chef J's BBQ. The restaurant is in the Warehouse District. I have so many memories here from so many parts of my life: the circus, working for BAC Music for 8 months, visiting with Tootsie the Musical.

But mainly, the circus train parked in this yard every year. I am surprised that nearly a decade later, it still hurts my heart to look at this yard and remember that it was once home, and can never be again.
thumbnail_IMG_2504.jpg

You can CLICK HERE to read my Kansas City circus journal entry from 2014.

Our unit (Ringling's Red Unit) always played KC in Mid-September. The owners of The Beast and Edge of Hell haunted houses would invite us to do walk-throughs for free. Edge of Hell can be seen when walking or driving the overpass, and The Beast is next to the BBQ place I was going to. Actually I guess you could say they share the building.
thumbnail_IMG_2509.jpgthumbnail_IMG_2510.jpg

Chef J's BBQ is fairly new (opened 2020) but they've already generated a lot of hype and are very popular with the locals. I got there 5 minutes before opening and there was a line of construction workers and corporate dudes ahead of me, many of them exclaiming excitedly about how good this place is and what they were gonna get "this time." The line moved quickly and I was in the door in about 15 minutes.
571802577_10109114598388792_2698355105450271417_n.jpg

I got the 1-meat plate, where you pick one meat and two sides.
Beef brisket, elote corn salad, and cabbage slaw (I wanted cucumber salad but they were out.)
573865462_10109114598338892_6555559964143673009_n.jpg

I don't eat BBQ often so I'm no connoisseur, but this was delicious! The crust on the brisket was peppery, smoky, slightly crunchy. The meat came apart with a fork and was juicy and flavorful. The cabbage slaw was whatever, but the elote salad was delicious, creamy and smoky and tangy. They served the meat with three sauces on the side, I liked all of them very much but preferred one BBQ sauce over the other. The mustard sauce was also great. Well worth the long walk to savor that juicy, slow-cooked meat.

I'd brought my in-ears because there was a union meeting right at noon, and it got underway as I finished eating. This time Dane (flute and our union steward) actually showed up so I had less of an obligation to be there, but I listened carefully as I walked back to the hotel. Nothing important was brought up this time.

Back at the hotel I typed this post and input my notes from the meeting (yes I took notes while walking) and rotted my brain watching Legend of Hei for a while instead of doing more important things. Oh well. I'm in a mood right now.

Dragged my clean bass back to the theater a bit before call time, assembled it, went upstairs to be alone for a bit. It's no good to be angry and annoyed long-term, it burns too much energy and doesn't accomplish anything. So I had a little talk with myself and resolved to do my very best at the half-volume that I'm being asked to play at. 

The show went well. I kept my promise to myself and played as expressively as I could...only quietly. 
I did get to wring some enjoyment out of how pretty the bass trombone sounds when it's quieter. Like a growly little tiger :) 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday:
Halloween! I hope to do laundry, enjoy some local ice cream, and wear my Grey Stuff costume for a bit. One show in the evening.

Saturday and Sunday:
Two-show days, nothing planned. Next city will be Nashville.
taz_39: (Default)
**DISCLAIMER** The views and opinions expressed in this post are my own, and do not reflect the views or opinions of my employer.
DO NOT RESHARE ANY PART OF THIS POST WITHOUT EXPRESS PERMISSION. Thank you.**

This post covers Monday and Tuesday.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

MONDAY

Up kinda early to finish packing and eat breakfast before Ubering to Green Bay airport. I didn't realize how small of an airport it was...TSA wasn't open until after 9am so I had to sit and wait near ticketing! I wasn't alone at least, lots of people don't get that memo about this airport it seems.
 
Once inside I was still essentially alone because mine was the only flight leaving out of that terminal, and I was too early.
 
I have never been in such a QUIET airport. It was weird.
 


The flight was fine with a short layover in St. Paul and then on to Kansas City.
KC airport was being festive.


I got to the hotel right at 4pm and was able to check in right away. Another Residence Inn! Full-size fridge! *sigh of joy*
And having been to KC many times, I know that the best grocery store is Cosentino's, just a few blocks away.
 
Cosentino's has saved my a$$ many times over the years. When I was with the circus, it was the ONLY grocery option available. When I was here with Tootsie and we didn't have fridges or microwaves at the hotel, Cosentino's hot bar and nonperishables selection was there for me. When I lived in KC for a year and had to work or take gigs downtown, I knew I could rush into Cosentino's on a short break and grab one of their awesome pre-made sandwiches. And now they'll stock my fridge while I'm here with Beauty and the Beast. Cosentino's is the best!
 
I got my groceries, got back to the hotel and unpacked, then retrieved my packages from the front desk. Two of them were pieces for my Grey Stuff costume; the hat is from eBay and the sweater from Poshmark. Each one was $10. They match better than I expected!!
 
The third was a piece of merch from Hazbin Hotel, Alastor's mug that he uses in a scene of the show.
Shown here with the Alastor shot glass I picked up at Hot Topic in whatever-city-that-was a few weeks ago.
 
Since we have trunks on this tour I thought it would be nice to travel a real coffee mug. For one thing the band has our own Nespresso machine which we set up in each theater. For another, a real mug is nicer than my plastic Aeropress cup and better than using a bunch of disposable hotel cups. I've no excuse for the shot glass, though :p
 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TUESDAY
 
I was up early to raid the hotel breakfast. Replenished my single-serve peanut butter stash, stole some bagels and fruit for the week, and will be back to liberate some walnuts and pumpkin seeds in a day or two, muahahaha :P
 
A slow morning of working on Foodie Finds and meal planning. I am feeling better and am glad I didn't waste the antibiotics on whatever-this-is-green-snot-illness is. We hit the 10-day mark and it was like a switch had flipped and I was on the mend. Highlight text for possible TMI: (yesterday during travel I had very obnoxious persistent postnasal drip that was making me choke and cough (I wore a mask but still felt bad to be The Cougher at the airport!) Today I notice that my throat is a lot less sore, the mucus is thinner, and it's clear yellow instead of the thick cloudy yellow that was coming out of my nose, or the disgusting green/grey semi-solid chunks that were coming out of my throat. The green stuff is gone so I think we are over the hump.) And I can still decide to use the antibiotics if anything changes.
 
I tried to take it easy today, still, because there's a lot I wanna do throughout the week and would like to be recovered for that. I did explore the hotel to find a stairwell since I'm on the 2nd floor and there's no need for an elevator when I can easily walk. Read my book. Had some Throat Coat tea. Packed dinner and snacks.
 
Around 3:15 I walked to the theater. I've played Kansas City Music Hall many times and I do not like it. From the outside it looks like a prison or a bunker, and the pit is narrow and cramped. I call it "the Art Deco prison."
 
My spot in the pit. Usually I keep both trombones to my left, but it is so cramped here that I can't do that. Instead I have to shove my Aviom to the other side of my music stand and put my tenor trombone where the Aviom would normally be, in front of my right knee.
 
This setup did work well, though all week I will have to move deliberately and carefully to avoid hitting my instruments against each other or the wall. As if that weren't enough, it's also a really loud pit. Tim (trumpet) has asked me to play more quietly in this city, and I don't want to give him hearing damage so of course I'll try. Maybe in the next few days I'll get over it/get used to it. 

The opening night show went well regardless of all that. It sounded like a nice crowd.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday: A bunch of errands including washing my tenor trombone, printing the signage for my Halloween costume, and dropping off a sweater at a thrift store. Watching the Hazbin Hotel Season 2 premiere! And one evening show.

Thursday: Foodie Finds including a local KC BBQ joint and a handmade ice cream shop, followed by a musician's union meeting. Probably washing the bass trombone too. One evening show.
taz_39: (Default)
**DISCLAIMER** The views and opinions expressed in this post are my own, and do not reflect the views or opinions of my employer.
DO NOT RESHARE ANY PART OF THIS POST WITHOUT EXPRESS PERMISSION. Thank you.**

This post covers the weekend.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

FRIDAY

Normal morning, though I felt crappy so after breakfast I walked back to Walgreens for more tissues, some Flonase (it really helps keep one's nasal passages open at night,) and some DayQuil. Back at the hotel my Throat Coat tea and throat spray had showed up too. These are preventatives and won't help me much now, but I hope they'll be useful as this tour continues through dry and cold weather.

After lunch I Ubered over to the antique mall (it's way too far to walk; I'd seen another cast member post about it.) It was HUGE and there was so much to look at!

Uranium glass!

thumbnail_IMG_2403.jpg

Absolute loads of Disney memorabilia. There was just about everything you could think of, but I've never seen Disney comic books before and enjoyed perusing those. There seemed to be sets for every character. Even Scrooge McDuck had his own comic at one point!
thumbnail_IMG_2409.jpg

Vintage cookbooks!
thumbnail_IMG_2410.jpg

I loved how these green glass jars looked. There were matching salt and pepper shakers and sugar/cream containers too.
thumbnail_IMG_2408.jpg

These apple plates got my attention for some reason. I think they remind me of an illustration from 1950s The Little Engine that Could.
thumbnail_IMG_2406.jpg

The only trombone-related thing that I found :p
thumbnail_IMG_2421.jpg

In one booth I discovered a lot of records that surprisingly matched Jameson's tastes, so I sent him a few pictures. When he reacted in an excited way, I decided to buy several of them for him :) There were a lot of international Queen vinyls, like a 1985 Tokyo pressing in limited edition red, or a 2-LP live 1979 broadcast "for Kampuchea," which I'm guessing was a fundraiser concert. There were some 45s too at only $5-6 so I got those for him as well. Grand total of $150-something, but it's not like one comes across these things every day, or thinks to scrounge eBay specifically for them.

Ubered back and got carsick in the Uber, so had a ginger candy and laid down when I got back. My guts were acting up a bit in general, but I think it's because I got liquid DayQuil which I forgot has SORBITOL, ugh. Guess that was a waste of money.

The evening show was well-attended. At 6:30 there were two lines wrapping in opposite directions.

thumbnail_IMG_2422.jpg

Josh (Key 2) conducted and did a good job. I struggled with postnasal drip but did my best.
Two more tomorrow!

---------------------------------------------------------------

SATURDAY


I was up early to do laundry. Breakfast and the usual blah blah of working on Foodie Finds and gathering things to put back in my trunk. I was done with it all by 10am or so, and decided to lie down. I didn't sleep, but it was quiet and warm and I felt very peaceful and could breathe through my nose, so it was good and sort of meditative.

The first show went well, though I had a small anxiety attack partway through the first act. This often happens if I fixate on physical sensations as though they indicate something wrong, which triggers my fight or flight. It's not surprising for it to happen while I'm sick. Swallowing mucus all day which makes me mildly nauseous, drinking extra liquids which makes me have to pee at difficult times, feeling like I can't breathe because my nose closes up at random...lots of these things can be a trigger. At least I know what it is and can ignore it, though it feels unpleasant and upsetting.

After the show we were given a free dinner, just burgers or grilled chicken for sandwiches with potato salad, chips, and cheese curds on the side (this is Wisconsin after all!) Free food is always appreciated. I took mine back to my room and chilled there until the next show. 


Here are the groceries that I picked up at the Woodman's Food Market, and reviews for them:
thumbnail_IMG_2365.jpg
  • Local Pickled Asparagus: 5/10 These were just ok. Basic, nothing to write home about.
  • Golden Beets: 5/10 Again, basic. They were mushier than the same brand of red beets, so I'll probably just stick to the red.
  • NuGo Bar, Churro: 8/10 I eat NuGo bars regularly and already like them, this is just a flavor I hadn't seen before. It was very good, cinnamony and sweet. Would eat again.
  • Door County Brownie Batter Canned Coffee: 8/10 I'm not actually trying this until Monday but have had their flavored coffee before and it's very good. They have a lot of different flavors so if you see 'em, try 'em!
  • Elote Mexican Street Corn Almonds: 10/10 I had low expectations and ended up blown away by how good these were. The salt that they use contains actual corn powder and probably some butter flavor. Combined with the nutty crunchy almonds, these are VERY good. Addictive!!
  • Simply Snackin' Jerky: 1,000/10 I first had these a few years ago and now I look for them every time I'm in Wisconsin. This is probably the best jerky I've ever had overall. They have something like 8-12 flavors, and the texture and ingredients and macros are just so perfect. You can probably order them online. Highly recommend this brand to anyone who's into jerky, they're just EXCELLENT.
  • Dandies Vegan Pumpkin Spice Marshmallows: 9/10 If you try these, know that vegan marshmallows have a very different texture than gelatin-based marshmallows. These were so good! The flavor was very strong and delicious, I LOVE putting some in my coffee in the morning! Only complaint is that I don't think they need to be quite that sweet. Otherwise these are good enough that I'd definitely like to buy them again.
The evening show was just fine, though our MD said the matinee performance had been better. I'll take credit for some of that because around 7pm each night is when my postnasal drip faucet turns itself on, and the 2nd act was a huge struggle for me not to cough in the middle of playing. I even had to suck on a Ricola between numbers.

Possible TMI, highlight text to read: ( I'm trying to downplay this whatever-it-is illness, but it sure does suck. During the day the postnasal drip recedes a bit and I can breathe through my nose, generally I can even go about my day normally with minimal medication. But my sinuses and throat feel sore and bruised and I keep losing my voice at random times. Every night I wake up at 3am to spend 30 minutes coughing up green chunks and blowing yellow goo out of my nose until it bleeds, then force myself to swallow some water even though swallowing feels like eating nails. It probably feels extra because although it's a normal sinus/throat infection, I'm playing the trombone very hard every single day while it's happening, and I can't even begin to describe to you how much that exacerbates pain in the face/sinus cavities and the throat muscles.)

Yes, I was given antibiotics, but it hadn't even been a week when I got them so I am trying to wait until the 10-day mark to see if my body can handle this itself. It will take longer and be more awful that way, but we as a society are quickly reaching antimicrobial resistance exactly because we have overused antibiotics for smaller inconvenient things like this. If it's possible to preserve antibiotic effectiveness for myself, for something more serious than this, I'd like to try. If it's possible. If I hit the 10-day mark and things aren't improving, I'll DEFINITELY do the course.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

SUNDAY


Up a bit early because our show is at 1pm and I wanted the morning to pack. Things are taking longer each morning because of the time I have to spend coughing and blowing my nose and all that. ANNOYING.

Watched Oliver and Company...idk about you guys, but when I'm sick I like to watch movies from my childhood to soothe myself. And perhaps eat a little extra candy too :p

The afternoon show was nice. For the first time since we got here the sun was out and it was around 50°F (10°C) instead of 40, and I was a bit sad to be indoors. Nothing of note happened except that Sarah's (French horn) parents came to the show, and came down to the pit to say hi afterward. They seem really sweet, and were obviously proud of their daughter :) 

During the break I chilled out at the hotel and watched some new Hazbin Hotel teaser trailers...Season 2 will be released on Amazon in 3 days!! They're only releasing two eps at a time though so I'd better cool my tits about it. 

The evening show was lovely, we had an enthusiastic audience to see us off. The wall tag here is unique in that it's a whiteboard and each show is given a little block of space to design-or-sign, then eventually when it's full the whole board is covered under a big piece of plexi. Things are written in Sharpies so they don't wipe off easily like with whiteboard markers, but we were advised to use darker colors because the lighter ones do tend to fade over time with this method. 

Whatever, here's our tag for Appleton! 
thumbnail_IMG_2433.jpg

After the show I packed up quickly and power-walked to the hotel, reserved an Uber for tomorrow, packed a bit, typed this up, got into pajamas, and went the heck to bed. Jameson's dad is visiting him right now and they were out at Halloween Horror Nights at Universal. As I type this they're at Voodoo doughnuts getting treats :)


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday:
Flying to Kansas City. We've just found out that there's a Chiefs game AND a conference going on downtown on Monday so it's gonna be chaos. I'm glad I booked an earlier flight assuming everything happens on time.

Tuesday: Opening night in Kansas City. If my Illness Of Doom isn't showing signs of retreat by then I'll start antibiotics.
taz_39: (Default)
**DISCLAIMER** The views and opinions expressed in this post are my own, and do not reflect the views or opinions of my employer.
DO NOT RESHARE ANY PART OF THIS POST WITHOUT EXPRESS PERMISSION. Thank you.**

This post covers the weekend.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

FRIDAY

I was up early to do laundry, though I could've probably slept in considering that this hotel has FOUR washers and dryers!!
Breakfast and some research about a tuxedo suit jacket (or just a regular blazer, idk but I'm researching it now because I've got a 6-hour drive to the next city that goes past a zillion malls so may as well maximize that.) I didn't quite know what to do with myself today. Walked to a thrift store and enjoyed looking around, ate lunch, watched anime, and borrowed the car again to go look at suit jackets at JCPenney and Macy's.

Dinner and the mile walk to the theater. Here are some pretty leaves.

thumbnail_IMG_2327.jpg

The evening show was just fine. Afterward a young man who plays trumpet came running down to the pit to meet us and ask for a photo. How nice! The band doesn't have a fan club like the cast, so we appreciate those who take an interest, especially when it's young folks with a passion for music :)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SATURDAY


UP at 8, breakfast, packed my stuff to go back in the trunk and dinner/snacks because I plan to stay at the theater between shows. Had a relaxing morning of watching Gachiakuta, took the rental car to get a little bit of gas.

Two of my sisters went to No Kings protests in their respective states. One sister lives in NYC, so hers had the larger crowd pics, but the other sister made her own sign which was pretty awesome.

thumbnail_IMG_5553.jpg
thumbnail_6430367011696206279.jpg

I couldn't attend anything because we had two shows, though I heard Lansing had a crowd of an estimated 2,000. Which is how many we had in our theater, too! A nice enthusiastic crowd, lots of kids. At the part where Beast is trying to bully Belle into joining him for dinner, Cogsworth tries to get the Beast to be polite and says to him, "What do we say?"

We were amused to hear a chorus of little voices from the audience:

"You've got to say PLEASE!"
"Please and thank you!!"
"PLEEEEEEEEASE!"
"Say PLEASE, Beast!"

Cute!

Between shows I stayed at the theater, ate a packed lunch, wandered around, read my book.
The evening show was fine as well. After Be Our Guest I took this pic of the pink streamers that had landed on the pit, because I thought they were pretty with the stage lighting.

thumbnail_IMG_2339.jpg

Oh, and I received a compliment from the MD! Specifically, it was on a part weeks ago in Durham where our music supervisor, Koz, gave me a note to play louder and I had a whole internal struggle about it.
Tonight the MD stopped me in the hall to tell me it is sounding "stunning!"
What a nice thing to say! DAR is such an awesome MD for this and other reasons :) I'll put THAT in my pocket and keep it.

As I lay down to bed for the night I noticed that the back of my throat felt dry and also swollen.
Are you kidding me?! Is this another virus or throat infection?!
I JUST had a throat-centric virus a few months ago. This is beyond unusual for me. Right now I can only guess that it has something to do with playing the bass, because that's truly the only "new" factor here. I've been touring for years on tenor trombone, in these same cities and theaters, and have never had this problem. On the bass and perhaps on this particular show score, I have to open my throat a lot bigger and for longer than I have ever had to do on tenor. I think that might be causing my throat to dry out more, leaving it more vulnerable to viruses or irritation. I'm not sure what else might be causing this issue but will think about it. It SUCKS and I don't know what to do about it :/

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SUNDAY

Slept poorly because my throat bothered me all night and I kept having stress dreams about it. It still feels swollen and sore this morning. I can't tell yet if it's a virus or an infection. I'm going to have to ignore it.

Was up early so I could eat breakfast, get dressed, and pack dinner/snacks for the theater, because at 10am I had to go pick up a rental car. Ryu (violin) kindly offered to drive me to the rental car place, which saved me an Uber. In exchange I'm going to transport some food items to the next city for her (she took the company flight but I am driving.) The rental place was shockingly busy, but I had my car within 30 minutes and was back at the hotel in plenty of time to continue packing and etc. 

Both shows went well and were well attended. Between shows I ate packed dinner, read a book, and closed my eyes for a bit because I wasn't feeling good. I didn't feel TERRIBLE but just tired and under attack from whatever-virus, and annoyed about it. 

After the last show we packed up, which was also very annoying because the pit was so cramped and only had one entrance. This has been a lovely city and the theater is nice, everyone here is great, but this PIT has been one of the worst. I'll be very happy to leave it behind. 


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday:
Driving about 7 hours to Appleton. The drive goes around Lake Michigan and should be pretty this time of year. Hoping to enjoy getting some nice groceries and chilling out at the hotel hours earlier than the tour flight would have gotten me there.

Tuesday: Opening night in Appleton.
taz_39: (Default)
This is kinda random but I've been thinking about it and wanted to write it out.

Lately I've seen a lot of Tiktok videos, and heard commentary from people, shaking their heads over the state of America. A lot of folks seem to think we're now a 3rd world country. 

We're not. 

Our health care sucks, sure. Our politics suck right now. Stuff is expensive. 

But sit with me for a sec and let's consider what we DO have. 

WATER
If I want to bathe myself, I can do it ANY time. There is clean tap water available 24/7 whether I'm home or traveling. I don't have to go to a public space, or wait in a queue to get fresh water, or find a natural source. 
Not only that, I can choose the TEMPERATURE of my water. 
Not only that, I can stay in the shower for as long as I like. 

Do you know how many people do not have that absolute luxury? 
Who get a RATION of clean water, and have to make it last for themselves and their families?
Who have to travel miles to get water at all, and then carry it back?
Who can only bathe sparingly?

FOOD
If I am hungry and don't have food in the house, literally all I need to do is step outside, and there is some kind of food within a mile. Not only that, I have an incredible choice of nearly any type of food at any moment whether in season or not. At this very moment as I'm typing this, if I wanted a pineapple, a whole raw octopus, a Japanese beer, and a hot plate of just-cooked African food, I could have every single one of those things within an hour. The very most I'd have to wait for any of that would be day or two if I had to order some of them. ORDER THEM! I don't even need to find those things myself...I can pay someone to gather them and bring them to me! 

In the context of human history, can we take a moment to marvel at the absolutely stunning privilege, wealth, and economic power of that? 

Meanwhile there are pictures leaking out of children who are skin and bones in Gaza. 
But I can pay someone to drive me to Whole Foods--which at all times has in stock nearly every vegetable, fruit, grain, spice, or meat you could think of gathered from every country around the globe--and from all of that bounty I can select pancake-flavored rice crackers that have almost no nutritional value, eat them, and say, "Meh, they were ok but I wouldn't buy them again."

And I have the GALL to say America is a 3rd world country???

HEALTH CARE
Admittedly we've got terrible health care, and I'm not gonna TOUT our health care. 
However we do HAVE health care.

If you need a doctor, yes, you have to make an appointment or get to a clinic. You might have to wait for hours, but rarely a whole DAY, and usually in a relatively clean waiting room with access to water, snacks, chairs, restrooms, and climate control. When you ARE seen, it might be in a somewhat dated room or with dated equipment, but 99% of the time you can safely assume that the stethoscope is clean, the needle is new, and any medication, equipment, or therapy you're prescribed will be readily available. If you need an additional scan like an MRI, you may have to wait days or months to get it...but you will still get it. 

You don't have to walk miles to see a doctor, and then wait days in a tent to actually be seen. AND THEN be seen but with outdated half-broken equipment, expired medications, or in unsanitary conditions, which any volunteer with Doctors Without Borders can tell you is the reality for millions of people around the world. You don't have to hear that you need an MRI and therefore there's nothing they can do for you because there isn't an MRI machine in that country.

Our health care is not great...but it's THERE. 

TRAVEL
If I want to go to China right now, I can. Do you know how powerful an American passport is?
If I wanted to visit my sister in Colorado 1800 miles away, there is nothing to stop me from being there in either a few hours or a few days. 
Despite the massive size of our country, it is possible to hop in a car and know with certainty that you will be able to find fuel, food, fresh water, and places to rest nearly anywhere you decide to go within the United States. 

Do we have a bullet train, no. Is our infrastructure dated, yes. 
Are we still fully capable of traveling absolutely massive distances with nothing to stop us, thanks to our personal freedoms and that dated infrastructure and the availability of transportation in general? YES. 

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---    

I will stop here, but there are MANY other categories where we could stand to sit back and consider how privileged (spoiled) we are compared to MANY other people in the world. 

I have been thinking about this, as I travel throughout the United States on fast and powerful aircraft; as I unpack my bags in hotel after hotel that is clean, with hot running water and a refrigerator and climate control. As I pay someone to take me to specific grocery stores with the most exotic and rare foods, not just the essentials, and how I don't even think for a moment that the grocery store might not have something that I need, because that is UNFATHOMABLE in my very, VERY privileged world. 

As I'm out here doing a dream job, earning and spending money, eating, and meeting people...
...I am thinking about this. Deliberately. 
Because we are NOT a 3rd world country. We are SPOILED and JADED to think so for even a moment. 

It is understandable to be DISGUSTED with the way things are in our country: health care, education, food access, etc. 
It is OK and natural to want things to be better. 
But I wanted to write this out because there is so much complaining, and not enough of that context to open our eyes and make us APPRECIATE the incredible lives we are able to live, because of WHERE we live. 
taz_39: (Default)
This post covers Thursday night + the weekend.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

THURSDAY NIGHT


Around 5:30 Jameson came home and fetched me to go see ENCORE's preview rehearsal of Hunchback of Notre Dame.

ENCORE is a local nonprofit performing arts organization known for recruiting from the very substantial local talent pool. The organization used to be affiliated with Disney pretty directly, and as a result anyone wanting to see or be seen for hiring purposes shows up to participate. ENCORE is also known for putting on massive, gorgeous stage productions with 200-voice choirs and 150-person orchestras and incredible set pieces, which is another excellent reason to participate; it's not often that artists get to perform in ensembles of that size!

This photo is from Hunchback rehearsals. There are so many people involved that they couldn't even get everyone in frame.
520309976_18520871221006276_1364142542464617191_n.jpg
(photo courtesy ENCORE facebook)

Jameson and I got downtown, parked, had an "ok" dinner at a pizza place. We walked to the theater and spent some time in the lobby so Jameson could connect with misc friends who were either seeing the show or involved in its production. I still don't know a lot of people in his circle, so just smiled politely and listened most of the time.
thumbnail_IMG_1445.jpg

I DO know many people in the orchestra, and made a point to post to socials to let people know I was there in case they wanted to interact. As a result Adam, who is one of the trumpeters at Epic Universe with me, came over to say hi and catch up during intermission! He seems to be doing well and I'm glad we got to meet up!
b2dc5ac1-b1e8-47f4-9a9e-7f88cfe8646b.JPG

The show was impressive and beautifully done. The orchestra was on stage, with the choir lofted THREE levels above! WOW!!
522651041_1181436717360383_4099745378264505053_n.jpg
(photo courtesy ENCORE facebook)

The actors performed on set pieces at every level of the stage and balconies. And the lighting was phenomenal. Don't even get me started on how emotionally moving a 200-voice choir sounds with a full orchestra. It was honestly a privilege to hear them. A lot of the women around me were crying. I'm not a weeper myself, but definitely had goosebumps.

It's a 3-hour show but there were no stops or holds, and it ended right on time. We hung out in the lobby a bit to congratulate performers and so Jameson could say hi to a few more people, then left because we both have an early morning tomorrow. Got home around midnight.

This cicada was guarding our garage door. Isn't she beautiful!
thumbnail_IMG_1447.jpg

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FRIDAY

I was up at 7 for breakfast before a dentist appointment.

The dentist's was boring, they tried to spring x-rays on me but sadly I can't afford them right now (nor do I really need them. My teeth are crooked but well-behaved otherwise.) After that I put air in my tires and gas in the car and went to the grocery for taco salad ingredients. Back home Jameson was gone to Disney corporate to do some work, but came back by lunchtime and we ate together. Then I practiced bass for a long time and enjoyed a little chillax before throwing together our taco stuff for dinner. I love taco salad because all it involves is cooking some ground turkey in spices and chopping some veg. Minimal actual cooking and super easy cleanup.

Before bed we noticed that there was more traffic on our residential street than usual. A LOT more.
Turns out the city had blocked off the main road for construction, and had put up a sign to detour traffic through our neighborhood...but then also blocked off the exit to our neighborhood. Sigh. We went outside to check out the fiasco and found some community HOA members already on top of it, calling the cops to come help. As of right now there are still people trying to cut through but at least everyone seems to be able to get out. This doesn't really bode well for traffic this week.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SATURDAY

Up at 8am for no reason. Coffee and quiet while Jameson slept in.

I typed up a Huge Long Rant...but deleted it...but here's the short version because I've still got residual annoyance: 
grinds my gears.png

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    --- 

CLICK HERE for A Rant )

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

Ironically, Saturday and Sunday were indeed a sort of forced "vacation" because I had absolutely nothing planned and no one giving me any work. Jameson has worked very hard at his two(!) jobs all week, so he took this opportunity to relax with some Outside Xbox and gaming while I did some dinner prep for us, practiced bass trombone, booked some flights for upcoming layoffs, and packed things for returning to tour. We went for our neighborhood walk in the afternoon and came back hot and sweaty but at least we got some exercise. Jameson watched a horror movie while I dozed or read my book.

Dinner was a homemade bolognese that I'd made and frozen before tour started. I reheated it on the stove, made a salad, boiled some wheat spaghetti, and made garlic bread. Basic but good. Ice cream for dessert.

As we were winding down my bosses at Epic Universe reached out to see if I could do a rehearsal day, and I said yes (they've HALVED the rehearsal pay since I left but money is money and I should keep my hand in.) Now at least I've got a crumb of work to look forward to next week.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

SUNDAY

When I was younger I could sleep until noon and spend all day in bed.
As an adult I find it really hard to do nothing for an entire day! How did I do it back then??

After breakfast I made iced tea, shuffled a few more things around in my suitcase, helped Jameson take our pool string lights down (they are 6 years old and have started literally crumbling.) While we were doing that Jameson noticed what appeared to be a tiny baby snake floating in the pool. I love baby snakes and ran to scoop him out.
523437421_10108726232771602_3377374032436576110_n.jpg

All the time that I was admiring him and before letting him go in the backyard, I was thinking that he looked kinda "off." His head and body had an odd angular shape, and his body near his neck was thicker than usual for a snake. I dropped his photo into iNaturalist and found out that this was not a snake at all, but an Eastern Glass Lizard! It is a "legless lizard," which sounds pedantic until you learn that he has non-snake features like eyelids and external ear holes. Neato! How cool to meet a new creature today :)

After that I sauteed some button mushrooms left over from making our salad last night. I cooked them in a little avocado oil, seasoning salt, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, leftover minced onions from the taco salad, parsley, and a bit of cooking wine. Didn't use a recipe, just looked up what to season them with and tried to eyeball it. They ended up a bit saltier than my preference but still very delicious, and will probably be eaten quickly :)

We watched Happy Gilmore 2 (slapstick is up Jameson's alley, not mine) and I very briefly practiced my Epic Universe music to make sure it was still floating around in my brain (it most definitely is.) Lunch, Jameson watched the Cubs game while I watched anime or read my book or felt restless. 

Seriously, how did I do so much nothing when I was younger??

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday:
practice, some form of exercise, possibly cooking dinner for us.

Tuesday: Jameson's at Disney corporate so I'll have the house to myself, but not sure that'll change my apparent layoff routine.
taz_39: (Default)
So! 

I have received complaints from one family member for oversharing their personal business.
Therefore, I'll no longer be mentioning this person at all, no matter what happens with them, good or bad.

If you were this person's friend and reporting back to them, I hope this accomplishes what you wanted and more. 

For all two of you other readers, sorry about this and thanks for your support. 
taz_39: (Default)







I've recently both added and removed friends here, and am about to go on tour again, so figured it's time to throw this out there again.

Here is a small summary-update, to introduce myself a little and share what kind of stuffs are in my posts.

INTRO

Name:
Megan
Age: 41
Married: No, BUT my partner Jameson and I have been together for over 11 years. We met while performing in the circus; he was the keyboardist and I was the trombonist. You can read about my circus life starting HERE or on any post with a "circus" tag, i.e. "circus: elephants" or "circus: train"
13015613_10101943741423632_7572154924368907847_n.jpg

Occupation: Commercial musician + random other stuff to fill the gaps between gigs. I am good at and enjoy tedious work like data entry and transcription, so am always on the lookout for jobs like that.
Residence: Orlando area, United States. Florida has a tropical climate so you will hear me talking about the heat, alligators, reptiles, strange plants, etc pretty often.
Hobbies: Reading, going for walks, amateur gardening, amateur cooking/baking, being a foodie especially while on tour, watching anime.
Family: I have four siblings (in order of age: a stepsister, a sister, and a half-brother and half-sister. This is because my parents married, had my sister and I, and then divorced and both remarried resulting in my other siblings. Hope that makes sense.) Both my mom and dad have passed away, my mom from pancreatic cancer in 2001 and my dad from COVID in 2021. My grandparents are also deceased, so all I've got for blood are some aunts and uncles, most of whom I don't keep in touch with, and my mom's sister whom I love very much and is very special to me. Because my parents had a bitter divorce when I was very young, and because of how some things went during childhood with my dad and stepmom having majority custody, you may sometimes see me write with residual bitterness about family things. I try to do this only rarely or in Friends Only posts.
30688333_1677026305721185_6383271019125145600_n.jpg
(me and 3 of 4 siblings)

Questions:
If there's anything you'd like to know about me feel free to ask! My social media and my journal are generally very open, and I post about most aspects of my life.


WORK HISTORY

MUSIC:
I went to school for music, majoring in trombone. Some music gigs I've had include Knoebels Amusement Resort band; Busch Gardens Williamsburg band; Princess Cruises house band; Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey Red Unit band (for five years); Tootsie the Musical National Tour (two years); My Fair Lady National Tour (one year); Elf the Musical holiday tour (a few months); Disney's Epcot Candlelight Processional, Disney's Main Street Philharmonic (as a substitute); and a variety of local theater, big band, and orchestral performances. My big orchestral claims to fame are The Florida Orchestra and the Orlando Philharmonic as a substitute trombonist. You can see pictures and evidence of pretty much all of these gigs on my socials (IG and Facebook)
312228520_10106246095316942_7098546544423140182_n.jpg

NON-MUSIC, PAST: I've worked a lot in music retail (Music & Arts Centers) and have been a retail manager, and also excel at administrative work, especially editing, data entry, and transcription. Some of my favorite recent jobs have been CapTel Service Specialists, which was voice-transcribing live phone calls for the FCC; and TSOLife, which was data entry for nursing homes in order document the life stories of the elderly while also compiling information to enable a better quality of life. I've had a HUGE variety of jobs throughout my life, including movie theater projectionist; janitor; confectioner; kennel associate; courtroom hearing reporter; Director of Sales for a music retailer; assembly line worker; and probably loads more that I'm not remembering right now!

PRESENT: Currently I'm working several jobs. I'm a substitute musician with The Florida Orchestra and the Orlando Philharmonic, which means if one of their regular trombonists needs a day off I am on call to fill in. I'm a substitute trombonist with the Main Street Philharmonic and the Epcot Candlelight Processional, both of which hold regular rehearsals that I attend and am paid for whether I get called to play or not. Thanks to those jobs I am a Disney Castmember, and have free access to Disney World.
448059316_18433793929034692_5343707405782973927_n.jpg

As of June 2025: I have just finished five months of working as a musician/actress/"streetmosphere" entertainer for America's newest theme park, Epic Universe! I was part of a group called Place Cachee Jazz (PCJ) consisting of a trumpet, clarinet, and trombone busking in 1920s Wizarding World Paris. My character's name was Phillipa. You can still catch this show if you visit the theme park, I just won't be back in it for a while.


My other job is working on and off as a contracted transcriptionist for the Department of Justice, processing federal hearings remotely.

(UPCOMING/FUTURE): In just a few days, I am joining the 30th anniversary production of Beauty and the Beast! I have done lots of touring with non-equity shows, but this is my first true Broadway production and I'm extremely excited (and nervous) about it! This is an all-new rendition with new costumes, orchestrations, and choreography. Stay tuned!

One last thing, a "negative" about me that you should be aware of:

Peeves: As a 41-year-old woman, a musician for more than two decades, and someone who has traveled extensively and worked many MANY different types of jobs, I am deeply annoyed by people who feel the need to mansplain me on how to do this and that, or who use the comments section of my journal for unsolicited advice. If I did not explicitly ask for help or input, I do not need or want help or input. It's a journal; I often write to vent just to get things off my chest and move on, NOT to solicit life-critiques from the Peanut Gallery.

If you are one of those people who just can't help themselves, who NEED to instruct others on how to live their lives according to you, be advised that I WILL respond curtly/bluntly/rudely to advice that I did not ask for, ESPECIALLY if it's written using command language (i.e. "You SHOULD do this," or "DO THIS") or written to criticize past actions that I cannot undo (i.e. "You SHOULD HAVE done this" or "Why didn't you do X"). If you can, please refrain from using my journal as an advice dispenser to hear yourself talk.

TL;DR: I generally don't ask for or want advice, so if you feel a need to advise me, consider A) ASKING if I've tried/thought of doing something instead of assuming that I haven't, and B) Choosing your words carefully, remembering that you're talking to someone with a lot of life experience, not a child who was just born yesterday.

OK that mostly brings ya up to speed, thanks for reading!
taz_39: (Default)
Up early again for Epic.

This time I went to Sprouts before work, because they have Spindthrift sodas and it turns out Jameson likes them :)

From there it was a normal morning, I was able to get a full hour of bass trombone practice before our sets which made me very happy.

The sets were all normal, but...there is already some pretty crummy behavior going on.
Universal is more of an "adult" park, which in some ways is a good and fun thing...and in some ways, opens the door to a lot of potential unpleasantness.

Today we had good crowds, but for the first two they were like TV audiences.
That is, we looked out onto a sea of phones. I felt like I was at a press conference or something.
And when we tried to interact we got no response or blank stares from most people.

Usually by the end of the set, if people stuck around that long, they'd start to warm up and clap and dance and whatnot. But not everyone stays that long; a lot of people take a quick video clip and leave. We're an ATMO band, which means we're supposed to add to the ambiance of Place Cachee, and make people feel like they're in 1920s wizarding Paris, and give guests an experience that they can't get anywhere else. But if you never once look up from your phone...what exactly did you pay for when you bought your ticket? You could have stayed home and watched videos of the park online, and saved some money. I guess that makes me old but, it was my thoughts today.

We had more questionable guest behavior in the form of a drunk guy who came running up to me during our performance and started yelling at me in Spanish. He didn't seem aggressive, just seemed to be acting stupid, but he was much bigger than me and got right up in my personal space. Our handlers were apparently too timid to do anything about it. The other two musicians immediately stomped over to "suggest" he step back...politely, and still in character. But they shouldn't have to do that in the middle of a show. We shouldn't have to stop a show to "handle" guests, that is what a HANDLER is for.

This stuff is only going to happen more and more, so we'd better get used to it and our handlers had better step up. I would hope that at some point we'll have training on how to handle negative interactions...but I won't hold my breath for it. I will simply have to watch out for myself. If I see that help is not forthcoming, I will act to protect myself...i.e., I will simply leave the set until the problem is removed. In the event that I can't leave because someone is trapping me or grabbing/touching me...let's just say I'm grateful to be holding a trombone. Which can be a VERY effective weapon. Which I hope no one will ever have to experience.

But you know. FAFO.
d1arnre-6d1376a9-1269-403b-b322-58e1f69a3991.jpg

Aaaanyway, that was the excitement. Otherwise it was good sets and good crowds.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---

I ate dinner in the break room and then drove to Will's for what was likely my final bass trombone lesson.

Chatted with him and his wife a bit, asked questions about his recent heart surgery which he said went really well, he's just a little sore and is recovering nicely. This is our first lesson in I think 3 weeks, and I was very gratified when Will exclaimed over the noticeable difference in my playing. I don't always practice as much as I should or work on all the areas that I should, but I do practice regularly and have worked very hard to be more comfortable with the bass, and it showed. I could feel it myself in the lesson, remembering how I'd sounded with Will previously. I'm still not as good as Will and probably never will be, but that's ok. I'll get better with time, and will continue to do my very own best :)

Back home the routine of unpacking and cleaning myself up and splatting on the floor.
Jameson had his last gig at Epcot tonight, and is tired but overall positive about his first performances post-surgery.
We will see how his arm feels over the next 48 hours.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday I was up too early. Coffee and typing this and breakfast, trying to figure out what to make for dinner and settling on a cheeseburger fusilli bake that we both like. Got the ingredients for that. Did not practice, didn't feel like it.

Had an exchange of information with the upcoming tour management, and that made me feel relieved although they still haven't given us much. Now I've got flight and hotel bookings for rehearsals in Schenectady. What I REALLY want is onboarding paperwork and the dang music. But, gotta be patient.

The rest of the day was slow, I just did research related to touring, worked on foodie finds, and read my book to relax a bit.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday, up early for no reason again. I guess this is my life now.
Slept poorly too because had eaten too many acidic things all day yesterday, and felt mildly heartburn-y and nauseous all night. It happens.

Jameson had a playdate with friends this AM, so after he left I drove out to the nearest Michaels to look at foam inserts for my bass trombone case. The case is heavy-duty, but the padding inside is not the greatest so I need materials to cushion the horn further for transport.

$80 later I had some chunks of foam, some dark grey felt (they were out of black), two sheets of black craft foam, two foam cones, a small cushioned black case that was maybe meant for glasses(?)...and these adorable post-its, because they're fun and life is short!
thumbnail_IMG_0769.jpg

Back home I chopped up the foam and put a chunk in the bottom of the trombone case to cushion the trigger mechanism, which currently is touching the hard side of the case and could be easily damaged as-is. I think the foam is perfect to protect it but we'll see. Additional foam in the more narrow section that houses the tuning slides. There was a lot of leeway for motion there that is greatly reduced with the foam.
thumbnail_IMG_0772.jpg

The black craft foam, I cut a piece to put in the bottom of my mute bag to help muffle sound. I like to start packing up mutes before the show is over where possible, and this will help me not to make noise while doing so.

The foam cones are to be inserted in the trombone bells, to protect them from being crushed during transport. They extend slightly beyond the edge of the bell, which allows them to take impacts instead of the bell itself. The bell may still receive damage sometimes but odds are greatly reduced by using a cone (this is why my bass trombone's bell got crushed during shipping to me, because the idiot who packaged it did NOT follow my directions and did NOT use a cone.)
thumbnail_IMG_0774.jpg

The small black case is for one of my small tuning slides on the bass, which must be removed for the instrument to fit in the case. It will probably also hold my mouthpiece once I get an appropriate sheath to protect them from clinking together. For the time being I cut a bit of the dark grey felt to go in there and provide extra cushioning, and threw random things in there like a mouthpiece brush and tape and spare trigger gummies.
thumbnail_IMG_0769.jpg

More of the grey felt will be put in front of the bell-and-cone, just to snug it in there more tightly. I was very satisfied with how my little plan worked out here.

I practiced a bit but wasn't feeling great, so mostly tried to rest.
Later on we drove down to Colonial Ave to see a Queen tribute concert.
We've seen this band before, our friend Allen (whose nickname is Shrek) was a sound guy on the circus and now exclusively tours with this tribute band. It's good money for him and he absolutely loves it, plus they come through Florida once or twice a year and we get to see him! We had dinner together and got caught up, then Allen got us our tickets and took us backstage to meet some band members. Everyone was pleasant as always, and since Jameson is both a keyboardist and Queen fan he always has lots of nerd-stuff to chat about with the lead singer and the keyboardist :)

The concert was lots of fun. The theatre is old so it was warm and stinky, but that also made it feel, I guess "classic!" Like, this was a common live venue setting back in the 80s and 90s. Few people were looking at their phones or even recording...most were really interacting, cheering, and having fun. I feel like that might be a rarity any more.
495034361_17931711549022578_7530813598577120273_n.jpg

After the show we said goodbye to Allen and thanked him for the tickets, and left so he could get started on loading out.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday, my brain finally allowed me to sleep through the night AND stay asleep until 9am.

This was partly because it was raining! It was darker than usual so I think my brain didn't know what time it was.
We have been in a drought here in Florida and BADLY needed this rain.



It also gave an excuse to have a nice slow morning.
I still feel kind of like, on the verge of having a virus, though I feel better than yesterday so that's something. I had an electrolyte drink, and waited a while before practicing bass, and then Disney stuff on tenor. After practice I had lunch with Jameson and then took a coffee grinder I'd sold on Ebay over to UPS so I won't have to worry about it on Monday. Then Jameson and I rested. He gamed and I watched Aladdin for no reason other than I felt like it. Maybe it's just comforting while I'm feeling under the weather.

Before dinner I cleared out the areas under the guest bathroom and kitchen sinks, and after dinner I did the master bathroom. Tomorrow we are having new sinks put into the bathrooms and new faucets in all three. Opened each box to make sure all parts are there and nothing is broken. We've had terrible luck with contractors and getting ripped off and/or paying for services that do not get completed, so please cross your fingers for us that we will just be able to get these installed without drama or issue.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday:
Three faucets and two sinks getting installed early in the morning. The rest of the day should be free. I'll probably practice and pack for Disney. If I'm feeling better I'll make something for dinner.

Tuesday: Rehearsal day at Disney.

Wednesday & Thursday: Working at Epic.
taz_39: (Default)
Thursday at Epic.

I was up early working on Foodie Finds, then had intended to stop at Sprouts on the way in to work but missed my exit because I was distracted/tired so decided to skip it.

At work after getting makeup and costume on I practiced bass, but only for a bit because I felt tired.
I'm about to have like a week off here anyway, so there'll be lots of practice.

Our sets were mostly just fine.
For one set, our puffskein Plume was "dead"...that is, her battery died unexpectedly. So when we revealed her to the crowd she was perfectly still, eyes closed, "in repose," LOL. We continued on with the show because what else could we do, but during my very first break in the music I casually slid back and forced her eyelids open so people could at least get pictures of her.
Sorry b*tch, but if I gotta work, so do you hahaha

Someone from Wardrobe sent me this picture later (Plume is presumably alive here haha)
thumbnail_7368617190581242694.jpg

It was very hot out, with temps in the high 80s and a heat index above that (31C+). The 70-degree days and cool nights are behind us...from now until November, we will not see temps below 80 again.

Traffic getting home was horrific, it took over an hour.
I scraped my makeup off and chatted with Jameson, showered and had a snack, and chilled.

------------------------------------------------------------

Friday. I hadn't realized that I've got FIVE days off in a row!
Now that we're past Easter, my schedule is suddenly very light.

There is still a lot of work to do, though.
With the tour in mid-June, I have to practice daily and gather equipment (mostly for the bass as I've never toured with one before.)
This is also a time to clean, cook, and spend time with Jameson.
Selling things that I don't need and then taking what I don't sell to a donation spot.
I've got an all-female Chicago tribute band gig to practice for, and transcription is supposed to start up again in May (fingers crossed.)

After breakfast I was twitchy waiting for Jameson to wake up so I could start on chores, but with five free days ahead of me I could stand to be more patient. He was up soon enough and went for a walk, and while he was gone I cleaned our bathrooms, vacuumed, and mopped the tile floors. Then practicing bass and large tenor. Switching between the two isn't "hard" per se, but one instrument gets cold while you're playing the other and that makes it tough to sound good sometimes. Simply remembering to switch is probably the hardest part...and then on top of that I'll have to learn when to use which mutes.

Since I'm an old lady I felt tired and low-blood-sugar after that, so chilled until lunch and then even after lunch, just figured out what to cook for the week, read my book, watched anime and some luggage reviews, and emptied the dishwasher. Updated my resume with the Epic stuff.

For dinner we went out for once, to Lazy Dog. Jameson needed a break, he had a frustrating week at work culminating in the probable loss of 5 months' worth of his efforts due to the carelessness of his bosses. I don't want to put so much weight on his Disney interview on Monday but...he wants and needs it real bad.

We had fried deviled eggs for the appetizer, and he got a flight of beers while I tried a lemoncello basil cocktail that was ok-not-great (which is why I usually default to wine at chain restaurants.) For entree I got the bibimbap, which I've had here before and is rather inauthentic but flavorful and one of the healthier options on the menu. My favorite part is the carrots, which are spicy as heck.
thumbnail_IMG_0713.jpg

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday, after coffee I packed up a mixer that sold on Reverb and took it to UPS.
Kind of goofed off until Jameson was up and about...I can't exactly practice or do chores while he's sleeping.

We went to brunch at First Watch! Just because!
Jameson had a bloody Mary, I had a cinnamon toast cereal milk with rum and oat milk. Both were great.
And we both had French toast, he had a tres leches one with strawberries and I went for the seasonal lavender cream + berries.



Isn't that a pretty sight!
Most people would NOT like the lavender cream. By itself it was "soapy" for sure.
But spread evenly on the toast with the blueberry compote, I thought it was delicious.
I don't usually splurge like this. A great treat with my sweetheart :)

(Also when I DO splurge like this, I look up the calories ahead of time, add them to MyFitnessPal, and focus on staying within my normal daily caloric range based around the splurge. In this case, the whole plate of French toast is about 720 calories, the drink was 230, for a total of 950 calories, mostly from carbs and sugar. That left me with about 650 calories for the rest of the day, most of which ideally should be from proteins and veggies to offset the carby and sugary breakfast.)

After our lovely indulgent meal Jameson went to get a haircut and I stayed home to practice.
I played both tenor and bass, practicing switching between them, and also practiced mute changes for the first time. Most of them are tastefully written, i.e. I won't have to hold three damn mutes in my lap like I did on Elf.

After that I had to lie down a bit because playing trombone on an overfull stomach had been a Bad Idea.
But after some water I felt better, and went for a walk to earn myself 100 calories back. Sweet.
The rest of the day was chill and not worth noting.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday, I am still getting up too early but oh well. After breakfast I went out for ingredients for "white lasagna."
Back home, Jameson went on a walk and I practiced, then while he was having a dip in the pool I measured out and chopped up the veggies for the lasagna.

After lunch we didn't do much...this is Jameson's last day off for a while so he spent most of it trying (and failing) to stay calm about his interview tomorrow. I bought a few stupid things on Amazon, planned what to eat at Epcot on Tuesday when I go to see Jameson play, and turned away some people who came crawling out of the woodwork to frisk me for tickets / entry into Epic Universe.

In case anyone reading this is thinking of trying that:
     - I'm not a Universal employee. I do not receive any of the benefits of a Universal employee, including entrance to the parks.
     - Even if I WERE a Universal employee, employee previews are over. They ended around April 15th. Even employees no longer have free access to the park.
     - The best way to get into Epic Universe before opening day is to stay at one of the hotels: Terra Luna, Stella Nova, or Helios. The hotels are currently offering a limited number of single-day tickets to guests.
     - The second-best way to get into Epic Universe before opening day is to beg an Annual Passholder to get you in, or to purchase an Annual Pass yourself.

Additionally, if we haven't talked in years and you suddenly show up in my PMs pretending to be all chummy, then immediately hit me up for free stuff, you're clearly not my friend and you're definitely not getting shit :)

Anyway. It was a slow day that should have been relaxing but both of us have things on the horizon to be tense about, Jameson especially, so it just felt like a day of annoying waiting. For dinner I made a half-recipe of the "white lasagna," which is supposed to be a copycat recipe for Stouffer's Vegetable Lasagna.
vl.jpg
(photo courtesy Sweetly Splendid which is where I got the recipe. Mine looked similar.)

Jameson described it as "A chicken pot pie lasagna," and I think he is right! I'd never thought of it that way but the process to make it is almost exactly the same, just with noodles instead of a crust. He liked it a lot so I'd make it again, but here are three notes for future me:
1) Make double the sauce.
2) Saute the veggies a little instead of throwing them in completely raw.
3) Check your dang noodles for doneness lol

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday:
Jameson has his Disney interview, then he's got sound check for his gig with Hooligans at Epcot. I'll have a boring day of practicing and scrubbing the shower with bleach, which I only do when I know Jameson is gone so he won't have to suffer the fumes. Might take myself to a luggage outlet store as my tour luggage has taken a lot of damage and won't last much longer.

Tuesday: Normal morning, going to see Jameson play at Epcot in the afternoon/evening. This will be his first performance since getting surgery on his arm.

Wednesday and Thursday: Work at Epic.
taz_39: (Default)
Thursday was a blessed, much needed day off.

I was supposed to have a lesson with Will but his doctor had told him to take it very easy (he had a cardiac ablation) so I decided for both of us it was best to cancel.

Instead I had breakfast and washed our sheets while Jameson went to the gym.

Had a phone chat with the financial advisor for my meager investment account. It was boring and a waste of both our time but a chat is apparently required once a year or something. He is an elderly white man, and I despise working with him because every time we talk he interrogates me about my income, expresses bafflement that I haven't considered another line of work or marriage as a form of financial stability, and makes it clear that he disapproves of how inconsistent my income is. It, like, stresses him out that I can never tell him how much I make annually, because it varies so wildly from year to year that I don't know until the year is over. Don't ask why I keep this investment account, I've no idea.

This time at least, for once, he didn't interrogate me about my income.

Him: "Anything new you'd like to share? Any questions about your account?"
Me: "No, I generally avoid looking at my account right now because of the way things are going."
Him: "...Not a fan of the current administration, huh?"
Me: "Considering that the current administration has a problem with the arts, as well as the company I keep as an entertainment industry professional, no, I can't realistically be a fan of the current administration."
Him: *5 second silence* "Ok. Well, this has been a good chat."


I can't relate to people like my financial advisor, for whom money is a god to be lifted above all else.
I'm sure he can't relate to me and my incomprehensible fixation with being a musician instead of a breeding sow, either.

After that my day was pretty much done, and I was grateful for it.
Jameson's parents sent us a Kringle, which is a sort of "pride of Wisconsin" dessert that we've enjoyed while staying with them previously. This one is cherry flavored, and I'm excited to cut into it after Easter dinner on Sunday!

I got an email from the tour I'm supposed to join in June, asking for a headshot.
Wow, communication! The first real official one in about 3 months. I sent a photo and will hope for more info and updates soon.

Before lunch I enjoyed half a Dragon's Milk Crimson Keep (ABV 11% which is why I only drink half a beer at a time, just that small amount gives me a very wonderful buzz) and after lunch I was a lazy a$$, doing nothing but planning dinners and taking photos of stuff I want to sell online.

We watched Top Chef and went to bed.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday I was up early, felt restless. Days off are supposed to be relaxing and enjoyable, but they just make me feel guilty for not being productive "enough," whatever that means.

So while Jameson slept I had breakfast, then
     - Took pictures of some trombone accessories that I'm offloading and listed them for sale
     - Bookmarked recipes for next week
     - Packed food for Epic tomorrow
     - Looked up how to repair the drippy guest bathroom sink


When Jameson got up I
     - Practiced bass
     - Went to the grocery for tonight's dinner and Easter dinner ingredients
     - Bought a sink repair kit and tried to repair the sink but the handle screw is so stripped that neither of us could remove it
     - Researched how to get our sinks and faucets replaced after consulting with Jameson about it
     - Sold two of my trombone accessories and set up payment and shipping for them
     - Prepped clothes and music for Easter Sunday gig
     - Bookmarked things I might need to buy for tour
     - Cleaned out the bathroom overhead light, which was full of ancient dead bugs


It feels like I did nothing at all today regardless of all this.

Eventually made "summer spaghetti" for dinner which is just pancetta, squash, tomatoes, balsamic, and basil on wheat spaghetti and sprinkled with cheese. One of our tasty staple dinners.

And finally sent notice to Epic and Disney that I'll be going on tour in June.
We're two months away from me leaving, and Epic at least will need to replace me. Disney probably won't be much affected.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday, up before my alarm for coffee and to work on Foodie Finds because receiving contact from the tour yesterday has re-motivated me. Left earlier than needed to get gas and pick up a Panera sandwich for lunch. Arriving early was good, though, because on Saturday traffic is lighter so for once I got decent parking, and also had time to play bass for 30 minutes.

Our sets were normal. We had one of the subs on trumpet, and…he did great but I really wish we could have a few more rehearsals for all of the subs. We also didn’t have the cart because one of the wheels snapped clean off as soon as it was moved. Yikes! It’ll be out for days if not weeks.

Employee-only previews are over, so now we have actual paying guests in the park (Annual Passholders.) It’s a different vibe but so far not a bad one. We had some good crowds and smiling faces :) I'm embarrassed to say that the only recording I've found of our trio performing today is one where I messed up terribly...and here I am criticizing the sub musicians! How's that for instant karma! Anyway I won't flinch from it. Remembering this performance will keep me humble and remind me to stay focused so I can do a better job next time.

Back home I prepped a light breakfast for Easter service tomorrow, and boiled some eggs for deviled eggs, then hydrated and relaxed.

Random photos from OCRegister, so you can see what's going on in this park right now.
There are more and more people, but it's still not CROWDED.
But oh, it will be.

Astrid/Stormfly meet-and-greet in How to Train Your Dragon / Berk
OCR-L-EPIC-UNIVERSE-0405-11-1.jpg

Frankenstein's Castle, Darkmoor, Dark Universe
OCR-L-UNIVERSAL-EPIC-UNIVERSE-0408-05.jpg

The streets of Place Cachee, Wizarding World/Ministry of Magic
OCR-L-EPIC-UNIVERSE-0405-06-1.jpg

------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday, up at 4am, UUUUGH.

Before leaving I set out a small Easter basket for Jameson, along with a Japan Series Cubs shirt.
thumbnail_IMG_0670.jpg

A 90-minute drive to some random Methodist church in the middle of nowhere. I arrived on time and so did the others in the hired brass quartet, we all pulled into the parking lot about the same time. Chatted as we got set up. Met the choir director, who started with a warm up and then ran through "Crown Him with Many Crowns" with us.
thumbnail_IMG_0669.jpg

We were hired to play prelude music for 15 minutes before the two Easter services, and then play along with any hymns. It was easy. At the first service we were a little timid, and didn't get applause between songs because it was a scant, half-asleep audience. But we did get applause when finished with the set, and after the service many people came up to tell us they'd enjoyed our playing.

The population of this church is 99% blue hairs; I only saw one couple about my age and they looked like they absolutely did not want to be there. This meant that we four in the quartet were the youngest in the room...and also, being from out of town, the most interesting. Thus it was that between services we were invited to enjoy a light breakfast with the choir, and had our ears talked off by these lovely men and women who only had a scant 20 minutes to pelt us with all the questions they could squeeze in, and/or tell us about themselves! :D

It has been a while, and had forgotten what a novelty I am, as a female trombonist, to this generation.
And never before have I had multiple people simultaneously exclaiming over that, as I did today.

Within just a few minutes I got,
"Wow, you're really playing that big ole instrument, huh!"
"My band director wanted me to play the trombone too, but my parents would have been FURIOUS."
"How can a tiny thing like you play a big instrument like that?"
"You must have extra-big lungs to keep up with the boys!"

...and my favorite was,
" *Manly giggle* So tell me, at what age were your arms long enough to reach all the notes?"


Generally, I consider comments like these to be non-offensive, and simply an expression of the fact that very few women play the trombone (and also that it has been a rather frowned-upon thing for young ladies to do, making it novel/more interesting than would be otherwise.) Additionally, most people don't know very much about the trombone and so make assumptions based on pop culture and tropes and whatnot.

It makes me happy that people are interested; to share how I got into playing the trombone, and explain that most anyone of either sex can play trombone, even with little arms :) When it becomes offensive is when a man uses one of the above statements as a segue into a mansplain about trombone technique because he played it back in middle school and is thereby an expert; or continues to describe how women can't or shouldn't play low brass instruments; or turns it into something suggestive. All of which have, of course, happened to me before. But this was a large group of both men and women, and I think people were just plain interested.

The second service was much better attended, and we received enthusiastic applause after each and every prelude song. Adorable! Everything went just fine and we were told many times how our playing had been enjoyed and appreciated.

In all honesty...when it comes to Easter, most of the time I'd absolutely drive 90 minutes at 4am for a few compliments and a muffin.
Money isn't everything.

Here is some of our playing. (Please keep in mind that we've all been up since 4am lol)



Back home I found Jameson standing in our driveway dressed in gym clothes, facing the garage door. I pulled in behind him and he held a hand up, but it was too late...he'd been taking video of a large black racer, but my car scared it away. Drat! He did send me the video, though! They are beautiful and beneficial animals, and I hope this one likes living in our yard.

He went for a walk while I scarfed down lunch, drank the other half of my beer, and whipped up deviled eggs.
When he got back we had a relaxing day, snacking on Easter candy and gaming or watching TV.
Eventually I made a modest Easter dinner of ham, roasted asparagus, crescent rolls, coleslaw, and the cherry Kringle from Wisconsin for dessert. Did you notice what I left out? The stupid deviled eggs! Completely forgot them and left them in the fridge. I felt something was missing and even asked Jameson and he couldn't think of anything. I was SO ANNOYED. Eh, we'll just eat them tomorrow, I only made six.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday:
Day off. Shipping the sold trombone accessories, practicing, Something Else Productive.

Tuesday: Day off. Same as above but probably listing more items for sale and cooking dinner too.

Wednesday: Work at Epic.
taz_39: (Default)
Monday, I was up just a little before Jameson for breakfast and to feel nervous about the Steamboat Lillie rehearsal.

After Jameson went to the gym I practiced bass and packed my meals for Epic tomorrow.
Ate lunch in the car on the way to the musician's union building near downtown, which is where rehearsal would be held.

I haven't been to the union building for ages. Bad memories. When I first moved to Orlando Jameson lived in an apartment so I couldn't practice there without disturbing the neighbors. I'd practice at the union building whenever I could get a reservation for it...but 9 out of 10 times my rehearsal was halved by assholes (men) who insisted on rehearsing past their assigned time, or who would bust in in the middle of my time slot to banter and guffaw and use the space as a hang, and would glare at me for being there (even though I had more right to be there than any of them considering it was MY time slot.)

This was one of the reasons I left the union soon after. And then we moved to a house in Kissimmee anyway.

It all looked pretty much the same, maybe slightly cleaner but not much.
cfma-rehearsal-hall-studio-1-orlando-florida.jpg

Three ladies were already there practicing. I introduced myself and got set up. Others were running late (people have kids and real jobs) so we used that time to try on our flapper dresses from Amazon. Our bandleader had wisely ordered multiple sizes, knowing that sometimes clothing online is not what it seems. My dress fit perfectly, and it is pale purple, almost the same color I wear as Phillipa in 1920s Paris at Epic Universe. Go figure!

When everyone else arrived we buckled down and plowed through the music piece by piece.
None of it is particularly hard, but some arrangements were pilfered online and are kind of "not the best" as far as making sense. Overall, though, people will have an easy time recognizing familiar Disney classics played in an old-timey jazz style. My favorite arrangements were the ones our bandleader did herself, you could tell she knows what she's doing as an arranger.

Overall this rehearsal went much better than I'd anticipated. Jazz is my biggest weakness as a musician, and improv jazz is worst of all. Playing it makes me feel inadequate and self-conscious. But this was a good group of patient people. And fortunately a lot of what was marked "solo" improv in my part turned out to be optional or for anyone to solo, not just trombone. Phew. It was a big relief not to have to improv much!

Back home I thanked my Morning Self for packing the Epic stuff so I wouldn't have to do it after a long day :p

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday. Halfway through April, wow.

They've moved our Epic sets by about an hour so I was able to get up an hour later, still 6:45am.

I argued with myself about bringing the bass trombone to Epic because with the schedule change I may actually have time to practice. Decided to bring it and at least have a try.

It was a normal day, quite hot and sunny. I did indeed find time to practice, only 30 minutes but way better than nothing. I was incredibly tired today, but so were a lot of other people, so maybe it's the heat or the alignments of the planets or something. Nothing else to report except that leaving work an hour later (5:30pm instead of 4:30pm) really, really sucks.

This was the "best route" according to the Googs:
IMG_0631.PNG

What kind of squiggly-snake BS nonsense is this?!
Just horrific. And Epic isn't even open yet. Ugh.

By the time I got home I was truly exhausted, and thanked my Morning Self for insisting that I bring the bass to Epic because Evening Self had absolutely no energy for it. The morning version of me sure is stepping up this week! LOL

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday. Jameson had to get up at 8 for a doctor's appointment, so I just got up when he did.

Had breakfast and went out to get myself bagels and coffee but otherwise stayed at home and felt nervous about tonight's gig.
Practiced parts of the Steamboat music that I'm uncomfortable with, and tried to relax the rest of the time because I feel stressed and tired. Our third party has been getting our pay wrong, multiple weeks in a row, and it's stressing me out on top of misc other things.

When it got to be time to go I packed some snacks, trombone and music stand, trombone stand, mutes, in-ears, music, and dress shoes, then put on my Phillipa makeup and stockings (I had smuggled my makeup bag and stockings home from Epic for this haha.)

The venue was easy to find. Dragged all of my stuff inside and got set up.
From here, everything kind of went off the rails.

Problem 1:
A child--I'm talking Gen Alpha--came running out from somewhere to do our sound setup, already on the phone with someone for help and with a panicked look on his face. Oh, lord. Sound check was supposed to be at 4pm and we did not play one note until 5pm. We found out later that the actual sound guy's grandfather had died and that's why he wasn't there...and we are all sympathetic to that. But the venue also could have told our bandleader that, so she could have had us come earlier, or made arrangements for us to warm up elsewhere while sound got their sh*t together instead of wasting an hour sitting on stage.

Problem 2:
The bassist's bass started BREAKING. I don't exactly know how, but suspect that since it was hot outside and she'd had a long drive, she'd brought the car-warmed bass into the absolutely freezing theatre and it had started to crack (this is a VERY common problem with wooden instruments including clarinets, and is why unionized musicians insist on specific temperatures in performance spaces.) We all jumped on our phones and frantically started asking around for any bassists in the area to help...within the next hour.

Problem 3:
Our trumpet player's audio pack died immediately meaning she'd have to do the entire show without the click track.

Problem 4:
There were four songs that we didn't get to at rehearsal, that we were planning to cover at this sound check. Which we now couldn't do because due to the theater's audio crew (a child) not knowing what they were doing, we were now an hour behind schedule.

We did end up getting an emergency upright bass from a local bassist, god bless her.
And we did get our mixes together. But had absolutely no time to warm up or run any tunes.

And hey, the dresses were nice. Here's mine.
thumbnail_IMG_0642.jpg

Problem 5:
I have to apologize if this sounds snooty or rude, and I have loads of respect for our bandleader, who worked very hard to make this band happen. But truth is truth, and every musician on that stage with me would agree: most of these arrangements were simply NOT GOOD. Even during intermission our reed player was frantically making changes to her part to try and make it sound reasonable. There were so many times that I, a low brass instrument, was written to play ABOVE the trumpet and saxophone. That just doesn't sound good, which is why people don't WRITE that way :/

Problem 6:
The click track was difficult to hear, and one of us (trumpet player) didn't have the click at all and so couldn't hear any count-offs. I tried to give her the count offs when I could, but *I* barely knew them either as we'd only had that one rehearsal and one run-through of each song (well, most songs.) The result was that we'd start with the click and quickly migrate away from it. So imagine trying to sing a song while another completely different song is playing loudly in the background. That's what it was like, and it was horrible. I stuck with it for a while but when we hit the Monsters, Inc. medley it's very syncopated AND I have a solo. I locked eyes with the drummer and we simultaneously reached out and yanked out our ear buds, lol. At least that was comedic, because the rest of the situation really wasn't.

Problem 7:
Our poor bandleader had paid a professional photographer/videographer to come and take footage of this set, to use for media promotion to hopefully get the group hired for corporate events or weddings or whatever. Yikes. He probably got some decent visual footage...but I doubt much of our audio was usable the way things were going. Between the bad arrangements and not following the click track and the bassist being on an unfamiliar instrument and all of us having to play in a very cold space...it just didn't go very well.

Was it terrible? No. Every woman on that stage is an excellent musician. But circumstantially, we were screwed.
Even without the sound check issues, having a gig based on less-than-ideal arrangements, with only one run-through rehearsal, and using a click track when we had a perfectly excellent drummer, is what did us in. It's a shame. I was grateful that Jameson had NOT come out to support me for this one.

I do think that the idea of an all-female 1920s Disney jazz band is awesome!
But tonight it was too rushed, too unorganized, to come together.
Maybe in the future the parts can be refined, we can talk the bandleader out of using a click past the count-off, and we can have more rehearsals. I think all of that would make this a great band.

att.rTuTAvB5zerFFQbRC2_XBAJi-b4C0zwstrQJW0U9L-c.JPG
(but the odds of me playing with this group again, after that experience, are slim.)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday:
I was supposed to have a bass lesson but Will is still recovering from surgery so it's a day off. Practice, some chores, the usual.

Friday:
Another day off, I'll cook dinner and probably find other things that need to be done. Still have a lot of crap to list for sale online.

Saturday:
Day at Epic.

Sunday:
Easter, Easter church gig, eating candy all day with Jameson hopefully, making us a nice-but-basic Easter dinner. Thinking of my mom (Easter was her favorite holiday.)

Addendum: Someone made a video of our full set at Epic a few days ago! I didn't play my best (this was the last set of Tuesday and I was ungodly tired and unfocused) but now you can hear ALL of the lines and see Plume's big reveal, the percussion number, etc!
(and yes, we know we need to be miked, we've been asking for mics from day one and will continue to push for them!!)



Legacies

Apr. 9th, 2025 09:28 pm
taz_39: (Default)







Monday, up early for Epic.

It was a fairly normal day, except now people can record us. Crowds were thin but I think it's because most rides and shows are actually up and running, so people don't need to loaf about under the blazing sun when they could be, you know, petting dragons and such.

There was a snippet video of us posted later on, not the full show, just some nice highlights.
This is the first public footage of me performing with Place Cachee Jazz!
(the timestamp is 14:04 if the video doesn't automatically start there)



Between shows I practiced a little, but there still just isn't time for it...by the time I get everything set up I've only got 10 minutes to play. If there were a dedicated warm-up room I could leave my things there, but there isn't.

After work, Whole Paycheck for the hot bar and some favorites (tofu bites, Koia shakes) before booking it home to pack for tomorrow and practice bass.

--------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, Epic again.

It was a bit drizzly in the morning which made it cooler :)

We did one show without the cart (mostly to protect Plume the puffskein from drizzle) and the rest were with the cart. All of the shows went well, though some were a bit underattended.

TMI WARNING (nothing explicit, just talk about "gut stuff")
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
I also felt malaise during the second-to-last show, it felt like either my usual nerves/stress physical reaction or something that I ate causing abdominal cramps, or perhaps both. Sometimes this happens. I've suspected for a while that I've got stress-related IBS or something similar, but since I don't feel nauseous, stop eating, or lose weight due to these episodes, I generally ignore them. A buildup of stress? A reaction to something I ate? Something more sinister? As a Millennial American, I have no financial way of knowing unless it becomes a medical emergency or starts significantly disrupting my daily life. It must be nice to have the privilege of simply seeing a doctor when you don't feel well. What must that be like! Only my parents and grandparents got to enjoy that before pulling the ladder up behind them.
*
*
Rant over...but not really.
I'll probably die from something completely preventable, thanks to this, so will never not be angry about it.
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
Anyway, it was a normal day and I drove straight home afterward. It took me a while to pack breakfast, lunch, dinner, and clothing for Disney tomorrow, and afterward I wanted to rest and make sure I'm not getting sick (based on tmi events above.) Ate dinner and dessert just fine...who knows.

Also, on the way home I was listening to NPR and they were discussing the workings of immigration court. I was gratified to hear the host describe the details of the work I've been doing for the past several months. It also made me worried, for the first time, about what it means that immigration trials are currently on hold. And with Trump deporting people like he's doing. That's peoples' rights on hold.

Not for my sake at all...I really hope that immigration hearings resume soon. Because people who come to this country are supposed to have rights. And if these cases DON'T resume....it's pretty damn bad sign.

----------------------------------------------------------------

I got to sleep in a bit later, 7:30am!
A relaxing morning of breakfast and seeing Jameson off to the gym, then I left for the Magic Kingdom.

The weather was calm and clear, not too hot even, and attendance was clearly up. We had great crowds all day!

Apparently Wednesdays are when the Dapper Dans rehearse under the Castle. They were with us in the warm-up room all day (not the group performing in the park that day, but a different set of four guys, possibly subs.) This meant that the band guys mostly stuck to their man-cave break room, and I stayed in the warm-up room because to me that IS the break room. The Dappers didn't mind at all, so I got to enjoy sitting quietly between sets and listening to their lovely harmonies all day :)

Here's a clip of them in the park.
(For those who are LJ or DW Friends, you'll get to see a video of their actual rehearsal today in a separate Friends Only post!)



We added "Heigh-Ho" to the parade music, and it went quite well. I was glad I'd memorized it in time.
Overall a really nice day.

Small introspection: it is a wondrous thing to be working at two amusement parks right now, one old and one new.
I've possibly mentioned this in previous posts, but felt it again today.

At Epic, everything is frantic with the energy and chaos of a new park about to open.
Everything is innovative and novel, the landscape is constantly changing, excitement is high, things are moving quickly.
There is an incredible undertow of hope and anticipation.
It is stressful, but also exciting.
There is a feeling of being a pioneer of sorts...every day I am aware that I am one of the first to walk these halls, to ride these rides, to look upon this newly-made "world."
My voice--the sound of my instrument--is one of the first to echo in the Ministry of Magic.
Those who work here, right now, are the first to call this park "home."
There's a wonderful feeling of pride to be a part of this new venture, a phenomenon about to be revealed that will surprise and delight millions, and touch the hearts of people around the world.
Memories waiting to be made. A legacy waiting to be written.
TOS-L-epic-universe-014.jpg
(photo courtesy Orlando Sentinel)

And then the next day I'm at Disney, riding the employee bus to the Castle.
The bus drivers are chill and friendly, take time to smile and greet everyone, and in return employees wave and shout, "Thank you!" as they get on off the bus.
Everyone walks patiently into the Utilidors, chatting and clocking in, most already in costume.
Nothing seems rushed or frantic; routines here are established.
Everyone knows their role and if they don't they've got someone to guide them.
The floor is worn, worn, worn by the feet of thousands of Castmembers before us.
The walls are covered in the legacy of Walt Disney...his image, his art, his innovations new and old.
Decades of memories. A legacy writ so deep that it has become a part of human existence.
There is a feeling of pride equally deep...of being part of an old magic, a cherished treasure passed down like an heirloom through time and space.
There is a feeling of belonging.
2022-wdw-magic-kingdom-main-street-usa-atmos-crowd-level.jpg
(photo courtesy AllEars.net)

Both places have such strong magic.
Standing with one foot in each world, as I'm doing, leaves me awestruck when I stop to think about it.

What a treasure.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday:
"Day off" for me, so catching up on housework and practicing AND supporting Jameson as he has another interview with DEG today!

Friday: Epic Universe, but rehearsal is at NIGHT for the first time! I can't wait to see Place Cachee all lit up :)

Saturday: Day off, supposedly meeting with someone to talk about bass trombone mutes.

Sunday: I picked up another day at the Magic Kingdom, hooray!!
taz_39: (Default)
Up very early again for Epic.

30 minutes to do the hair. I am pretty annoyed because I just got it cut on Monday, and they did not cut it short enough to avoid a potential bun, so now I have to pay to get it cut AGAIN. I've written in this blog many times about never being able to get a good haircut, and once again here I am with the simplest ask in the world--"Please cut it 2 inches shorter"--no special layering or styling or anything--literally just remove two inches of hair--and it's like I've asked for the stylist to bring me the sun, moon, and stars on a platter. I got home and tied up my hair and had to ask what the hell I'd just paid for. Maybe I should invest in a self-haircut 101 course, if there is such a thing, because I am tired to death of the scam that is hair salons.

Anyway. Breakfast and off to Epic.

We had our prop for most of the day...it broke once but in a fixable way, so we only had to do one show without it.
There were good crowds, and we saw Mariah (trombone) with her boyfriend, and I was surprised to see some Main Street Philharmonic people and other musicians that I know around town, who texted later to tell me how much they'd enjoyed our show and to explain that they have spouses or other family working at Universal (hence how they were able to get in for previews.) It was fun to see familiar faces out there :)

Curious to see what people think of the new park after their previews? Reddit thread HERE (Mild spoilers, nothing to ruin a visit.)

The strangest part of the day, for me, was being contacted by almost every single employer/gig on my roster!

Transcription job wrote to say there's a hold on government court cases, and would I like some civil cases instead? Sure, I said.
Easter gig sent more music, and the coordinator asked me to pick up some music from her and bring it to the gig.
My Main Street Philharmonic boss texted to try and get me to fill in as an emergency (literally within the hour), and I had to say no.
An all-female Chicago tribute band that I'd signed on with and completely forgotten about messaged to send music and coordinate a rehearsal.
My third party boss for Epic wrote to offer reimbursement on the junk trombone I bought, if I'd create him an invoice.

And the coordinator for the Steamboat Lillies (usually known as the all-female band Hourglass) sent more music, and put up an ad for our gig which I promptly shared.
487999706_18038408813616476_224297459554894711_n.jpg

In fact the only job/gig that I didn't hear from today was the tour, but I heard from them just yesterday!

Did the stars align in such a way that compelled people to communicate today, for once?
I love it! If only people were this informative and on top of communication ALL the time! :D

Partly because of this bombardment of music and scheduling, and partly because I felt it was the right thing to do, I cancelled my bass trombone lesson this evening. I couldn't picture Will and I doing anything except the same handful of exercises I've been half-neglecting while all this tenor trombone work rolls in, and also felt I'd be distracted thinking about how I need to practice all the new music I'd just received. Didn't want to waste Will's time nor mine. We can resume again on the 17th, after the busiest week in April is out of my face.

Back home Jameson was out to dinner with friends. I washed myself up, changed our sheets, downloaded the new music, made the invoice for my boss, and practiced bass for about an hour, then crashed. Dancing around in 90F / 32.2C weather drains you quickly, no matter how much water you drink.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Slept poorly and was up too early, but enjoyed the quiet time to myself anyway.

Once Jameson was up and off to the gym I practiced bass trombone for an hour and ran a few small errands before lunch, then after lunch got my stupid hair cut a stupid second time. This time walked in with it up in the ponytail already and showed exactly where I wanted it cut, and she just angrily lopped it off. So now it looks ridiculous, like a little squared tassel, and no shaping at all was done so it looks terrible when it's down as well.

Whatever. I clearly have bad hair karma, and there have been so many bad cuts at this point that I can't afford to expect a good outcome anymore. I can still tie it back and it's certainly not long enough for a bun, so mission accomplished.

I was supposed to practice tenor trombone in the afternoon but felt tired and unmotivated. It's probably because I'm not looking forward to the Steamboat Lillies gig any more...seeing that EVIL JAZZ IMPROV in my part was a big turn-off. I can't tell you guys how much I hate improv, I find nothing enjoyable about it at all and feel like a fool every time I attempt it. Well...at least the other 80% of the gig should go just fine!

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday was my preview day at Epic Universe, and it was absolutely wonderful!
So much happened that I decided to make that it's own post, which you can read HERE.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday, I was up early to type up that massive Epic Universe blog post. Uploading photos, resizing them, embedding videos, adding links, and remembering how the day went sure does take a lot of time and effort! In the process I found many lovely clips and footage of Place Cachee Jazz featuring Mariah (trombone), Adam (trumpet), and Adrian (clarinet).

Here is a 6-minute clip of our show:



After Jameson got up and around we went to Publix together.
Back home putting groceries away, doing laundry and running the dishwasher, eating lunch, packing for Epic tomorrow, and darning my Chain Chomp shirt because last night I'd found a hole in it!! It was such a clean cut that I think it must have happened when an employee was cutting the merch box open. Jameson suggested that I take it back, but I can't go to the other worlds while working so I'd have to ask a Universal employee to go all that way and switch it out for me. I decided it'd be easier to sew it up myself. I watched a YouTube video and it seemed easy enough...and it was! Except...I wasn't paying attention, and did it backwards, so the bulge-y part was on the OUTSIDE. Lol! I don't mind, you can barely see it anyway and it'll be a cute reminder of this moment :)

Practiced bass for an hour but once again couldn't drum up the motivation to practice tenor.
My plan now is to practice things during the breaks between Place Cachee sets at Epic. We'll see if this actually happens.

The rest of the night was quiet. Jameson made us hot dogs on the grill and we watched anime or gamed respectively.

------------------------------------------------------------------------


Monday and Tuesday:
Working at Epic Universe. I wonder if anyone will record our shows? I hope so!

Wednesday: Subbing in at the Magic Kingdom.

Thursday:
A "day off" that would have been a lesson with Will, but he's got surgery so we've cancelled.

I'm also supposed to be learning how to do civil court cases for my transcription job, but add that to the list of things I'm unmotivated to do right now.
taz_39: (Default)
Aaaah. You guys.

I got an offer, just now, to join the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Asia tour.

Two years touring China, Taiwan, Manila, Macao, Singapore, India, Malaysia/Indonesia, UAE/Saudi Arabia, and Hong Kong.

The MD for Tootsie recommended me for it.

and...I will probably have to turn it down.

ARRRRRRRRRRRGH.

-- -- -- -- --

Why? Because
A) Another tour during the same time frame has made an offer first, and I have already accepted.
B) The other tour is union, which equals higher pay and benefits.
C) The other tour is with a company that is typically VERY beneficial to work for, if you want more opportunities in the future.
(and I will share who and what Other Tour is, as soon as I can. Whenever that is.)

But oh.
I have wanted an international tour for SO LONG. 
And now I have to turn down one dream for another.

This is one of those times where you're supposed to be grateful to be showered in opportunities beyond your wildest hopes.
And I am! Oh my god, to be considered at all for these things is all that I've wanted, all this time.
I could not ask for more.

But the FOMO, you guys! 
It HURTS. 

And...to me, adventures are just as good as, if not better than, money. 
Which is why although one gig pays more, the one with more adventure is just as valuable, and just as hard if not harder to decline.

-- -- -- -- -- 

Well, the thing is, I have not heard from the other tour for close to 3 months since receiving their offer.
So, I've written to everyone I know there asking someone to confirm with me that I'm still "signed" for that tour.
And while waiting for a response, I've thanked the MD for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and expressed interest, but told him my situation and asked if he'd be willing to wait a few days for my response. He was very gracious about it.

And now I have to wait. ARRRRRRRRRRRRGH.

Other than the radio silence for several months (which is sadly not uncommon in this industry) I have no reason to think anything's changed with the tour I've already committed to. And I am a person who sticks to my commitments and contracts. So unless something went wrong and I just don't know it yet, I sadly will not be going to Asia this time. Because I've committed to another glorious opportunity instead.


ARRRRRRRRRRRRGH.
I am blessed.
ARRRRRRRRRRRRGH.
taz_39: (Default)
Monday, good lord I was tired.
I'm a 90% sedentary person, so all this dancing around and tromboning in the sun for 8 hours a day + 12,000-17,000 steps feels like a lot. But it's gonna be eight days of it so I'd better adjust.

A little extra coffee was helpful.

Today was special because we got to rehearse in our actual performance spot!
Which of course I can't describe, womp womp NDA.
Also, it is in direct sun for the entire day from about 10am to 4pm, and that is going to be...tough. Because we have to be period-appropriate, and there weren't sunglasses in the 1920s in Paris (well they existed, but only as a treatment for syphilis.)
But we did fine, we just had to take breaks from the sun. When we are doing shows and not rehearsals, we will be outside for shorter periods of time......though it'll be hotter then too. Can't win haha.

I had a special thing happen: I might have made a change to the show!
While watching some of our actions/acting, I decided to have my character do something that *I* would do. It was just a small thing, but due to the timing it made everyone laugh uproariously. And to our surprise the show director didn't tell us to leave it out, so the next two casts copied it, and THEY weren't told to remove it either. So maybe it's in now? I'd love it if we could keep it. If so, it would be my own little contribution to this creation. And if not, it'll be a lovely memory.

We were released a little early, partly because it had been a hot day and partly because a lot of us have other gigs going on this week and the show director didn't want us "blowing our brains out" by which he means overplaying and injuring ourselves. I got home before 7pm (so rare!) and packed breakfast-lunch-dinner. practiced bass, all the usual.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, we had a slow start to the day because there was a lot of activity in our part of the "world."

We did rehearse in Our Actual Spot, but only briefly; there was a lot of painting going on and this time instead of fumes we could actually taste the paint in our mouths each time we finished playing. Like, there were particles in the air. It was totally gross and after a while between that and the dust we couldn't stand it and ended up moving. But then in the other spot we kept having to move for the cherry pickers, then a helicopter came and essentially sat on top of us making a big racket (and also probably getting footage that they shouldn't have of us rehearsing!) so our show director got exasperated and were dismissed to lunch early.

I used my lunch break to hit Whole Paycheck for my usual treats, since there is no day off for me this week.

When lunch was over we were able to do a few show run throughs, and we also enjoyed our first wand/spell tutorial!
Another show director (Pishta? Pasha?) came over from the Fantastic Beasts stage show to teach us (our director doesn't know Harry Potter lore.) We learned that there is a specific way to handle your wand involving three steps, which can be learned by reading the Cast-a-Spell Handbook.

Step 1: "Holster." The wand is in its holster and you grasp it.
Step 2: "???" I forget what this one was called but it was something obvious like "prepare to cast a spell" haha. Removing the wand from the holster and holding it in an upright position, not pointing it at anything/anyone.
Step 3: " Prime." Choosing your target and pointing your wand at it. You also have to consider the size of the thing you're casting the spell on, and whether you want the spell to effect the whole target or just part of it, because this determines how large or small your wand gestures are.

Then, you cast your spell. Make the gesture as described or illustrated, making sure to say the words in time with your gestures. It's also kind of a "swish, swish, flick" motion involving much wrist, and you only get your whole arm involved if you're trying to cover something big.

We broke into pairs and practiced casting offensive and defensive spells, making sure to follow the holster--???--prime pattern both before and after each spell. I can't share which spells we cast in our show, but rest assured that they're REAL Wizarding World spells that do exist in the lore of Harry Potter, so it's important that we get it right. We have to at least look like we're aware of the basics.

giphy.gif

Then we took another field trip to Dark Universe!

This time we were inside the burning windmill, which is a restaurant called the Burning Blade Tavern.
ueu-dark-universe-the-burning-blade-tavern-interior-render-a.jpg
(image directly from Universal website)

It's a small, dark, cool restaurant with low ceilings and low lighting. Again, going to be very popular in the Florida heat solely based on those things. There are additional artistic/immersive details about the building itself that are REALLY cool, that again I don't dare share as it could violate my NDA. We all looked around and exclaimed over the thoughtfulness of these little details, and I think guests observant enough to catch these things will appreciate them too!

It was pretty crowded, as other entertainment departments were there to be an audience, too.
Cannot share what the performer experience was like, and we don't even know if they'll actually take place in The Burning Blade or if we were just doing it there for convenience/construction purposes today. I can share that it was the same type of performance that we got to see last week, same performers, only now they've had more practice and everyone seemed more comfortable with the materials. It was quite fun :)

Back at the employee hub, we thought it would be nice to get a group photo at the Epic Universe countdown clock.
This is pretty much the only "backstage" area where we had been told we're allowed to take photos.
475500445_1637900947095770_2135859796897240993_n.jpg
474377776_18482724064026094_6472865647778557316_n.jpg
(other Entertainment Department group photos currently up on UOTMLife IG account)

Unfortunately, there was a security guard there preventing anyone from taking photos at the clock.
We showed him the existing, public, Universal-sanctioned images above, and he did not care.
So I guess we're not doing that. A shame, but at least the groups pictured above got their feet in the door before it closed.

In the evening there was some sort of special event for which music was wanted, so "the PR Trio"--that is, the three of us that have been most consistent with performances--were asked to stay late to give a performance. The rest of us bopped back home.

Jameson has been in a low mood lately and may be coming down with something.
I packed breakfast-lunch-dinner and practiced bass and we had a quiet night as usual.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday, I felt pleased because this is the last day that all of us will be together at rehearsal. From today on, we've all got other gigs and commitments, and Friday will signal an end to full-time rehearsals. Yay! Don't get me wrong, I've appreciated the work and the money, and I have learned SO MUCH. It has been well worth the experience, and I'm looking forward to actually opening our show in the park!
Gjf62yNWUAAhpZ2.jpg

BUT I am so incredibly behind on other parts of my life. I've barely spent any time with Jameson. I haven't cooked a single meal for almost a month. I've had to eat dinner WHILE driving every night for OVER a month. Not to mention the house chores being all backed up, and ACTUAL practice for my other gigs including Disney and the upcoming tour getting neglected. There is so much else that I need to do, and I am very much looking forward to not having every moment of my time defaulting to Epic Universe.

Anyway, today was a weird one because there were Warner Brothers executives in the park. We rehearsed indoors for a little while, then took it outside to dodge some cherry pickers and do some full runs.

After lunch the executives had made it to our part of the park, so the "PR trio" of musicians was asked to put on a show for them. They did an amazing job especially with the sun beating down on them. After that show was over the execs kind of took over the area where we play...it's an excellent photo op. We waited for a while to see if they would leave, but they didn’t seem to want to go anywhere else and we couldn’t really rehearse without disturbing them. So we went back up to the break room, had a little powwow, and at that time we presented our show director with a small gift: a tobacco pipe imported from France! I have no idea if the guy smokes or not, but it was one of our clarinetist’s ideas and we all went with it. Regardless, the show director seemed happy with the gift. We said our goodbyes and parted ways, leaving about 30 minutes early.

There are still several days of full-time rehearsal left, but this is the last time that all of us will be together. I wish that we’d been able to take a group photo, have a cast party, or memorialize the occasion in some way. But it’s OK, I’m sure that we will all see each other again in passing!

Even though they let us go 30 minutes early, all it meant for me was sitting in traffic for an additional 30 minutes. Driving in Orlando is absolutely horrific. I was looking forward to having extra time to pack my lunch and relax, but got home at the same time as I would have on any other day. Figures.

Got caught up with Jameson, packed breakfast-lunch-dinner for Disney, and did not practice bass because Jameson was talking to me while I was packing meals so it took me way too long to finish. No big deal, I usually take one night a week off from it anyway.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday: Magic Kingdom with the Main Street Phil

Friday: Last day of full time rehearsal with Epic Universe + starting transcription again

Saturday: God bless that day off + going to see Alton Brown's show at Dr. Phillips!

Sunday & Monday: Back to back Main Street Philharmonic days.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

PS: 
A Beauty and the Beast casting announcement teaser post from Disney Theatrical...IYKYK


(CLICK HERE to see)

taz_39: (Default)
(IMPORTANT: I was asked by my third-party employer to remove an IG story last night, simply because I added a picture of the Epic Universe logo.

Since the IG story in no way violated my NDA, I'm going to choose to continue sharing already-public information in this blog, such as press media or articles that any of you could easily look up yourselves.

THAT SAID: if my posts start becoming more scanty or if you see them edited after being shared publicly, understand that there's a lot of pressure to keep pretty much everything confidential until the park opens. It's annoying, I'm annoyed too, but that's how it is. Thanks.)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------


Thursday was a difficult commute. I got cut off by a pickup on an exit ramp causing me to brake hard and spill coffee all over (luckily just in my cupholders but it was a big puddle in there) so had to then stop at Wawa to clean it up, which made me late to Universal, which was slammed with another orientation so it took me nearly 20 minutes to find VERY far away parking, practically run to security only to find a line out the door, and finally get through to rehearsal.

This is the second day in a row I've been late-by-my-standards (I was not even five minutes late but I do not like to be late AT ALL) so I'll be getting up extra early tomorrow to ensure that I'm there at a reasonable time.

The day continued to be crummy for me, I had bad headache and we spent the day mostly running the music which was deafening in the small rehearsal room. I can't wait for this weather to clear up so we can rehearse outside. I wore earplugs and took Motrin and made it through.

Partway through the day we got to do some run-throughs. Three of us were chosen to do both run-throughs, and tbh I felt sore about it. But I can understand that our show director probably wanted to put forth those of us with the highest energy and stage chemistry, which is definitely not me. Had to chide myself a bit and remember that a year ago, or five years ago, I never would have even attempted perform as an actor much less actually WANT to be on stage acting in front of an audience! For god's sake, I've never even been brave enough to try karaoke, and here I am whinging that I didn't get asked to act today. It's a miracle that I've been asked to act at all. Besides, we'll all have a chance to perform before our five weeks are up.

Well I did get over it pretty quickly, and was glad to work on other things for the rest of the day.
Traffic getting home was terrible, it took me over an hour to drive the 18 miles. Luckily I'd already promised myself a day off from trombone practice. Caught up with Jameson, packed lunch for tomorrow, and enjoyed typing this blog and watching One Punch Man.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday! So glad to be at the weekend!

Aerial photo of the park. Ministry of Magic is the big white building(s) squatting to the right of the hotel (the hotel is the one top-center with all the gold domes on top.)
GhsaoeoXYAAaXb9-WIDE-MAIN-scaled.jpeg
(photo publicly available on orlandoparkstop.com)

Close-up of the Ministry of Magic/Place Cachée. Place cachée is French for "hidden place" and it's the wizarding portion of Paris in the 1920s. Similar in concept to Diagon Alley.
Ghp7ZdVWwAAGwu1-WIDE-FRONT-1536x1024.jpeg
(photo publicly available on orlandoparkstop.com)

Today made up for how crummy Thursday had been.

I got to do two full run-throughs!
Our show director pulled me aside before the first one to ask if I was ready...and maybe to fret a little himself about whether I was ready. I said, "Look, I've never acted before, but I've performed on stage before, at other theme parks. I'm not gonna embarrass you." He laughed at that and let me go on. I had my book off to the side, and did reach for it several times when the nerves got to me, but never managed to get it on the right pages so it didn't really help! But I had been so close to being "off-book" at that point anyway that it didn't matter. There were a few spots where I forgot my music but I just laid out in those small moments. Speaking from musical experience, it's better to lay out than try and make something up and sound bad.

For the second run, it started off as just another rehearsal behind closed doors to help us feel more comfortable. I'd left my book all the way across the room because since it was just us rehearsing, I figured it'd be a good time to ACTUALLY try going off-book.

And so OF COURSE that's when a line of important-looking Universal execs walked in to watch.
Thanks a lot, Murphy's Law!

But you know what, I went on like they weren't there and just did my very best, like I had already planned to do whether they'd been in the room or not. And afterward they smiled and said, "Great job," and left.

You guys,
today was the first time
in my life
that I have ever acted.
At all.


I got up in front of 30-some people and did a xx-minute show as an imaginary person.
Younger Me would NEVER.
I guess we really do change as we get older.
I was nervous, but I didn't CARE that I was nervous. I just felt nervous and DID IT.

And after the first run, lots of people made a point to tell us that we did a great job including our show director.
Honestly it is so crazy to think about, now that I've done it.
Whatever happens from here, I'm grateful to have had this experience.

Also, I am now the first person in our cast to go completely off-book!
Some folks have memorized the music but not the lines, or vice versa. I'm the first to do a whole show with no book at all.
That did make me feel good today :)

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday, I was thrilled to have a day ooooooofffff!!!
I do look forward to rehearsals but it's been a very intense two weeks, and breaks are very much needed and appreciated.

Woke up at 7:30 and breakfast and anime, and when Jameson got up to go to the gym I went out for bagels and groceries, came home and cleaned the bathrooms, and started to practice bass trombone but my lips are rather chapped and I've played for six days straight so decided it was OK to not touch the trombone today at all.

Instead I was a burrito in the sun.
thumbnail_FullSizeRender.jpg

Jameson's car appointment took longer than expected (don't they always) so I was very lazy. Stayed wrapped in my burrito blanket, dozed a bit, had some tea and snacks, watched YouTube videos, and enjoyed the quiet of the house. Jameson eventually came back with dinner and we watched Traitors and more splatting in front of the TV. An email went out asking all of us to have our music fully memorized by Monday, which gives some people only a day and a half to get it in their brains, and that's not even counting the script. I feel relieved to not have to worry about it but bad for the people who do. People can't be expected to memorize at the same pace, and we all have other jobs and lives outside of this new theme park that take time away from that, too. We'll see who's able to get it done by Monday, but stragglers should not be made to feel bad if they don't meet this sudden deadline.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday, it's finally getting back above 60°F (15.5°C) and sunny. Hooray!

Slept in "late" to 8am, breakfast and packing my lunch for Monday.
Jameson got up and went to the gym and while he was gone I practiced bass and did a run-through of my Epic Universe stuff just to make sure it's solid for Monday. When Jameson got back we had lunch, then it was so nice out that I just had to go for a walk. The neighborhood is quiet because there are fewer tourists this time of year, plus the animals are still in hiding from the cold. So it was just me and the sun and the breeze.

For dinner we went to a K-Pot that's popped up in Margaritaville nearby. We haven't been out to eat together in too long. I forgot my phone which is a shame because no pictures, but it's just as well because this is the type of thing where you're cooking your own food and we had stuff spread all over the table, not to mention sputtering oils on the grill and sauces dripping and yada yada.

Here are some stock photos from the KPot site so you can get an idea, if you've never done this. You have a pot of boiling broth, in which you place meats and veg and noodles and dumplings, simmering them together until they're tender. Then there's a little round grill which you baste in oil before adding your thinly-sliced meats or veggies. There's a sauce bar where you can use premade sauces or make your own, to season your food before grilling.
5982BC75-AF7B-4548-B3EE-EA1E98E48F0B-819x1024.jpeg364275921_627797222783543_4887956642541216912_n.jpg

Jameson got a spicy seafood broth and I went with a fragrant herb broth. He did shrimp, octopus, different cuts of beef, mushrooms, and dumplings. I did spicy white fish, brisket, bok choy, pumpkin, and dumplings. I made us a sweet-hot peanut sauce that was BOMB, we ended up dipping almost all of the brisket in it. We each had a drink too.

It was lots of fun, and I ate WAY more than usual but it's so rare for me to overeat that once in a while will do me no harm. Plus, I think this is relatively healthy considering you're not adding butter or dairy and everything is boiled or grilled.

Went home to digest and rest up, because here comes the last week of January.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This week we'll be outside for most Epic Universe rehearsals, weather and construction permitting. I have nothing special planned, just rehearsing all day, practicing Disney stuff after rehearsals, and trying not to worry about the political turmoil...looming like a distant tsunami which will inevitably, unequivocally roll ashore and impact us all.
taz_39: (Default)
Ooh, Monday.

Like most who didn't vote for Trump, I spent the day avoiding media/socials and trying to pretend it was just another day while a bunch of tech billionaires watched their president get inaugurated.

All I can say is the same thing I said last time: I hope that four years from now, those who voted for him can look around and see how "great" America is "again" and feel satisfied.

Some of you seem to be expecting that things will get "better." That Trump will wave some sort of magic wand that lowers the cost of your groceries or something. Personally, I'd LOVE for things to get better for all of us poor cogs. But continuing to empower one of the worst humans on the planet and expecting him to do it for you, doesn't seem like it's going to work.

I mean, it definitely didn't work the first time.

I heard a quote this week from a Chinese person on social media: "Americans think they are free because they get to have opinions, but they don't get to have choice."

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What was I saying? Oh, Monday.

GPplRBOXEAATHli.jpg
(A scale model of the entire Epic Universe park. It's so big that you can't get the whole thing in frame. CLICK HERE for a video of the model.)

Early morning, breakfast, rehearsal. We were supposed to be outside in our rehearsal space but it was cold even for Florida (54 with a windchill) plus they chose today to jackhammer the exact spot where we'll be performing, so that plan was ditched. Instead we got music/guidance for an interactive bit, and worked on that until lunch. Then we did a few play-throughs and more drumming stuff.

Afterward I went to Whole Paycheck for the hot bar since traffic was 5 minutes lighter than usual due to the national holiday. Back home, of course I was tired but packed lunch and dinner for the next day and then buckled down to do 30 minutes of bass trombone practice. Tomorrow I'll do both bass and Universal memorization (by packing dinner as well as lunch I hope to save some time getting home but we'll see.)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, the same routine. It rained all day so we were indoors and worked on a lot of blocking. In fact it was so much new blocking that by the end of the day my brain absolutely felt like it was melting out of my ear. After a point it feels like one cannot retain any more new info, and I was definitely at that point.

Packing dinner did save me a little time, only about 15 minutes but sometimes every little bit helps. At home I took the recycling out, practiced bass, did a load of laundry, downloaded some new show files from our Dropbox, and packed my lunch for tomorrow. I did not try to do more Universal memorization, recognizing that my brain was fried for today. I can see some improvement in the bass by doing these little 30 minutes sessions, which was cheering :) And I didn't pack dinner because tomorrow I'll get the egg white avo sandwich from Panera and call that dinner.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday wash rinse repeat, except we started the day with a French diction/accent coach (I think it's no secret that the Ministry of Magic part of the park is set in 1920s Paris so there ya go.) She only got a little time to work with us today but it was quite helpful.

Most of the day was spent playing through our full set multiple times, taking turns, which was a best case scenario for me. Having one group perform gave other groups time to air-play along and memorize, which is exactly what I've needed to do. As a result I've definitely got more than half the music memorized and am in good position to reach my goal of having everything memorized by February.

It was cold enough that it could have snowed (39°F which could have given us a wet mushy snow) so we were indoors all day. I wonder if this storm system will be past by Friday so we can spend some time in our performance spot.

At home I did the same thing, packed lunch and dinner for tomorrow and took the trash out and practiced the bass and then slammed through about half of my Main Street Phil music at double speed just to make sure it still resides in my brain.

Flyover of the current construction at Epic Universe, taken about a week ago (I'd turn the sound off, it's annoying.) Can you tell which world is which? I think How to Train Your Dragon world and Super Nintendo world are the most visually impressive.



----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday and Friday: More of the same I assume.

Saturday: Hoping to take Jameson out to celebrate him having his stitches out! And chores and practicing.

Sunday: More chores and practicing, possibly making caramels and a visit to my friend Bill who repaired my bass, to return the case he lent me and give him some caramels.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Profile

taz_39: (Default)
taz_39

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 34 567
89 1011 121314
1516 1718 192021
2223 2425 262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 01:47 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios